Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


H Frank Carey High School 4

Posted January 17, 2016
- a parent
I feel most of the teachers are willing to help. If your children are in AP or advanced classes, which is usually possible if you try in areas of interest, the education is top notch. It's ok in the regular classes. The world language dept needs help as many children do not do well in Italian and especially Spanish. My children do well in most / all subjects. But the teachers are mostly available to help them.

H Frank Carey High School 1

Posted October 11, 2013
- a community member
Carey could do a lot better :/ I don't really like it. I'm not learning anything new and teacher need to pay more attention to their students.


H Frank Carey High School 1

Posted April 06, 2013
- a community member
This school is horrendous. In my years here, I have been bullied relentlessly by several students with no help from teachers or administration. My parents and I have reported several situations to the principal and assistant principal with no results. I have been taunted, hit and assaulted on several occasions by several students and they all have remained unpunished. Also, it is hard to get an education here. The students have no respect for authority. I have attended several high schools throughout the years, none of which have I had such a strong resentment toward. Never was there as many problems at any other school I was at as there has been at H. Frank Carey.

H Frank Carey High School 1

Posted December 13, 2011
- a community member
I'm not learning as much as i want to it's all just review of the former year until the last 2 months

H Frank Carey High School 5

Posted November 20, 2011
- a parent
The Spanish class taught by Ms. White was thorough and complete. My son used to hate Spanish, but after being in her class, he speaks it to the waiter every time we go out to eat. Ms. White made my son take it seriously, and she is a no-nonsense professional educator. I think she used to teach in a rough NYC public school, but either way, she was great for my son. I wish all the teachers at Carey were like her.


H Frank Carey High School 1

Posted October 16, 2010
- a parent
this school should mentor and get involve in student development. they leave it up to the student and without guidance, the student doesnt know which programs or additional courses to join therefore, potential for future success is wasted. this is the reason why less then 50% of the graduating student body does not go on to a 4 year college. the promote the 13th grade which is Nassau Community College. take it from a graduate, this school is terrible in developing for students for success.

H Frank Carey High School
no rating

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
I have had serious concerns about safety at this school within the past 2 years. Why are the students suspended from other schools housed in this school? Work on improving academic areas and safety to bring this school up to par.

H Frank Carey High School 2

Posted January 16, 2009
- a parent
I agree that Carey needs a major overhaul of the teaching staff. I've been less than impressed by the level of teaching in general. The parents and students should have an opportunity to review the teachers annually. The teachers should be held accountable for the good or poor performance of their classes. Perhaps then, they would be more enthusiastic and put more effort into their classes.


H Frank Carey High School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
I think a major overhaul on their teaching staff needs to be performed. More then a few teachers seem less then enthusiastic. I say concentrate less on banning halloween costumes and halloween jewelery and concentrate more on bringing Carey High School back on track!

H Frank Carey High School 4

Posted January 02, 2007
- a parent
Carey offers a variety of AP, Advanced and special programs such as I & A and Architecture. The music program excels and the extracurricular activities far exceeds what other districts offer.

Nearby schools

H Frank Carey High School
230 Poppy Avenue, Franklin Square, NY  11010
(516) 539-9400
Last modified H Frank Carey High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top