Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Summit Education Center-Lang Dev Program

Private | 235 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Getzville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $218,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

Shame on Summit Educational Resources! After working with them numerous years with my son for his Autism, I have realized that that are not concerned about the child and their outcome, but more about their own financial gain. They have made getting services so difficult for us instead of helping us, they have also lied and manipulated for their own gain. I have listened to other parents tell similar tales, but when your child needs ABA and has autism- they are the only provider in WNY, you have no alternative, and they know it. The insurance companies only cover their therapy because they keep data, but I urge parents of children with autism to look at other programs in the area I.e, floor time, sensory intergratration, other school programs. There are other great schools doing great things for our kids and not looking out for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2013

Beware! Education is not a priority here. Money and filling seats is the bottom line. Once your child enters the Summit system, the focus is solely on Summit s financial gain. Whether your child benefits from this or not is no matter to them. You re filling a seat which enables them to receive more funds, bottom line. Having a child with specials needs, I was hoping for a more personalized program. We were challenged at every turn and treated as though our child had no special needs. The don t rock the boat environment is in place here. Breaking away from Summit is extremely painful. They will do anything to keep your child in a seat producing their revenue. That includes bogus Child Protective Service cases thrown at you. Summit has no shame when their bottom line is challenged, money. ** Be prepared to constantly battle for what is truly right for your child s needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

There are some phenomenal staff working here, and everyone cares about the children. However, I removed my son from the school because of the extreme violent behavior of some of the other children. My son bites and I don't condone this, but some children here truly have severe psychiatric disorders, and scare the other children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

My teenage daughter, diagnosed with autism at age 4, has had the good fortune to work with the staff from Summit from the time she was a preschooler. The expertise of the staff (teachers, aides, therapists, psychologists etc.), in teaching students with autism using evidence based methods is unmatched in WNY. My daughter has learned and achieved more than we ever dreamed possible. I feel extremely blessed to have such a tremendous resource - from a highly effective year-round school program, to in-home support, to respite services - right at my doorstep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

Summit has brought my son to academic levels I never thought were possible. The teachers are very loving and kind. I dont know where we would be without summit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

Summit has brought my son to a level of learning and friendship I didn't think he would ever meet. The staff is dedicated to the whole learning process of the kids as well as their families. Thank you Summit for all your work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

Exceptional School that delivers Exceptional results. Adresses not only your child's acadamic needs but emotional, social and physical well-being. My son loves it there and has for the past 8 years. He hates to miss a day even during breaks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2004

Summit has changed my son's life! The dedication of every staff member is outstanding. My son has attended for 2+ years and will be mainstreamed thanks to the hard work and dedication of everyone involved with Summit. His classroom team is wonderful and will be greatly missed by our entire family. The involvement with families as a whole is something I do not think you could find elsewhere. The parent support has been a very positive experience for us, as well. I would like to thank everyone from Dr. Anderson right down to all of the SEIT teachers. Thank you for changing my son's life! We love Summit!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 52%
Black 12% 21%
Hispanic 5% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stephen R. Anderson
Affiliation
  • Non-Denominational

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 Stahl Rd
Getzville, NY 14068
Phone: (716) 629-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heim Elementary School
Williamsville, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT