Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-6
Public
Huntington, NY
Students enrolled: 654

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodhull Intermediate School 1

Posted August 09, 2014
- a community member
This place was really awful... I recently moved into this district and was horrified when I got here. The teaching method is set back by a couple of years... the technology was in horrific shape and most of the equipment was in either horrible shape or broken. Most of the teachers here are fairly nice but there are a few exceptions. 2 out of four of my teachers were pretty rude and plain out mean. My 3 teacher didn't know how to stop talking so it was very hard to complete work, I found myself having to start ahead while she was talking about who knows what. I also didn't feel very safe, we had part of the playground burnt down near the end of the year. Many people believe it was arson and I'm not so doubtful it wasn't. Overall I was not happy with my experience here at all. I would strongly suggest you not go here and someone should really take away the 8 out of ten rating. this notion isn't just from my perspective but from a few close friends as well.

Woodhull Intermediate School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
A wonderful , nurturing environment. The teachers and staff are great. The kids are busy learning and growing all the time. The best part of 6th grade is the trip to Greenkill. The kids enjoy it do much and it's and experience they talk about throughout their life.


Woodhull Intermediate School 5

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
This school is amazing! The school now, is every 5th and 6th grader in the district! The teachers are totally up to date, the halls are clean and cheerful and the students are doing great. The leadership - Mrs. Stokers and Mr. Stein Rock!!! We especially love Mr. Stein! Great communications to the parents, great education and a great social environment - and the music program is amazing! They use technology and good old fashioned teaching and caring! They do so much there, I don't have enough room to write it all!

Woodhull Intermediate School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Woodhull Intermediate School 4

Posted March 14, 2009
- a parent
As you can see on the statewide testing results, the school has improved past years academically. It is a larger school than the K-3 schools in Huntington, as it combines Southdown and Jefferson students, so it is daunting for 4th graders. However, the school tries best to ease the transition. The staff is dedicated and Dr. Card, the principal is firm and fair. There are lots of activities to make the learning interesting. One thing that can be beneficial to parents would be more communications on all the programs, clubs, activities ahead of the schedule.


Woodhull Intermediate School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Woodhull Intermediate School 4

Posted May 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Woodhull Intermediate School 1

Posted January 24, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Woodhull Intermediate School 1

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Woodhull Intermediate School 5

Posted September 01, 2003
- a parent
A nurturing, caring, enviornment. Great public school experience. Our child has grown and blossomed at this school. He actually WANTS TO GO to school now!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodhull Intermediate School
140 South Woodhull Road, Huntington, NY  11743
(631) 673-2030
Last modified Woodhull Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodhull Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top