Advertisement
Advertisement

Jamaica SDA Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 105 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jamaica

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

I am so disgusted with this school!!! First off the school does not have a gym for the children so they are asked to pay $60 every quater to go to the YMCA ... shouldn't that be included inbtuition?! Secondly....the school year ends 6/13/14 and they want to collect a full months tuition...NONSENSE! The teachers for the most part are good....but this school and the leadership....hot mess!!!!! Not a happy parent, needs better structure and leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

I also wanted to add that the class size is NOT 12 per teacher. It was more like 20 - 25 students per teacher. That information is incorrect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

I love my school. My daughter has been in this school from second grade and will most likely be there until eigth grade. I enjoy the fact that the teachers are able to do more one on one with the students the class sizes are great. Love my teachers and I believe they work well with the parents. My child will be a 7th grader this September and I look forward to the school year. Most importantly we have a new principal who has taken the school to new levels. Looking forward to our new year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

My daugher just graduated from this school. I can't rave enough about the academics. The students are prepared for high school. They take the NY State math and science regents and have a high passing rate. My daughter spent her entire schooling up to this point in this school (Pre-k to Elementary). Now she is more than prepared for High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

This is the greatest school ever my children have been coming to this school for 3 years the teachers are great they idividually spend time with the students and there is this young boy named Eleazar who just makes all the students feel welcomed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

My son start school this summer and it was a huge disappointment. The teachers give no input in his development and even when I asked no can answer me. The secretary treated my son better than the teachers. My son wakes up every morning hating the school. I will pull him out. This school proclaims christain education but what is the sense of that when they cannot even greet child and parent with a simple hello.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 21%
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Esther Kerr
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

88-28 163rd St
Jamaica, NY 11432
Phone: (718) 297-3491

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. 30
Jamaica, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT