Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps Is 268

Public | K-8 & ungraded | 613 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

Could be a good school but lack of listening from both principal and assistant principal makes the school looks very bad. they have no empathy for the parents who are struggling to see the kids do well, the principal walk around as if she's modeling and the assistant principal walk as if she's ready to fight any parent that I ask a question. I pray for the Chancellor to get involved so that the kids can have a great education..............
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

This is avery good school which my daughter graduated from in2011 and she was accepted at radnor high school in suburban philadelphia,is presently at cornell university and would be graduating in2015.Thanks Mr Smith and your staff we truly appreciate the efforts of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

P.S. 268 has been a great experience over the summer . The Day Camp SASF is amazing . My Twins attend Day Camp this Summer for the first time and the School is so clean, Warming , AND Very creative Projects of the Students everywhere. The Staff is so helpful and Pleasant. I would like to Thank All The Staff form P.S. 116 that are attending P.S. 268 for the Summer and helping my Twins develop Culture and the Important of Day Camp. GREAT JOB .. I feel very comfortable and I am able to work knowing that they are in a Safe Environment ... I WOULD ALLOW MY CHILDREN TO ATTEND THE DAY CAMP NEXT YEAR .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

The principal lacks people skills. She seems oblivious when there's a school event like the flag/culture festival that I attended to see my son in last week. When I've tried to speak to her, she can't answer my questions clearly, and if she does, her answers are open-ended. It's clear that when speaking at an assembly, she's nervous and uncomfortable. Personally, I, as well as other parents feel as though she doesn't fit the principal position...at all. After researching, and researching a father was able to come across some information. You've only taught Kindergarten for a few years, then became a principal. How did this happen? So, in other words, you really don't have much understanding or comprehension on how to run a classroom. Who ends up suffereing? The children that's who. Bottom line.....Administration as a whole needs to be replaced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

this school is wrost.they disrespect the parents all the time.the principal and asst: principal should be removed from this school.as a parent never feel welcomed or find any comfort talking to them.the principal thinks she is someone big s...!they call acs on innocents parent without even having any prove/facts. must go the principal..and asst:principal .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

This school lacks the authority figures to take this school to another level. The principle walks around thinking she is Diana Ross (NOT). She does nothing. The lunch room at times looks like a scene from "the principle" with Morgan Freeman. There is noone to control wat goes on in there cause All of the lunch staff appears to be afraid of the children. Someone needs too get that lady OUT!! She needs to be in a school where all the children are Saints. That way she can continue to keep up her tradition of doing nothing. Great job principle (NOT).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

I agree with all the parents who gave this school a low grade. They need to get rid of the principal. She is unapproachable. She is not for the student . She think this school is her house. She dresses inappropiate. If the students are not learning, please don't blame them, blame the camp they are in. I am looking for a school for my child. The teachrs or staff are scared of her. She does not have any standards. Yes I agree with the parent who also state that the students are getting homework that need textbook. My child get homework that make references to textbook he dont have. And yes the teachers are allowed to embarrass and yell at the children. Get rid of the principal now. They need a strict but nice and friendly person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2010

All I can say is 311! This is not what a school should be like. The building is ruled like 1940's Germany....DIVIDE & CONQUER. Teachers are fearful to teach, students are unable to learn. No one can provide answers about anything. The Principal lacks the skills to be a leader. She refers all issues to the assistant principals who are none to eager to do much.


Posted March 24, 2010

I think P.S./I.S. 268 is a good school, unfortunately the principal in place lacks integrity and any real leadership ability. The moral amongst the teachers is low as a result of the first-time principal in place. The school is fine as long as you don't encounter the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

I have a 9 year old daughter attending PS IS 268. I am very greatful for all the support and guidance she receives from her traches.I really appreciate it. I strongly believe that the student and the teacher have to work together to achieve good resuls. My daughter has always been a wonderful and smart child and this scholl has helped her to maintain that.I do hope I will continue to have these same thoughts about PS/IS 268 always.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

The best! My 11 year old son, the youngest of 4 has attended IS/PS 268 for the last two years and is about to enter his third year, now he'll be entering the middle school there. My other children have attended six other schools in Queens between all of them. We kept searching for a school that would compliment what we do at home with our children academically and ethically. This is the best of all the schools by far. The teachers have been invested in my son's progress and his development. He has always been good in math but could not excel in reading. This year between his teacher and what was required at home he jumped over a full level in reading from a low 2 to a mid 3. I only hope this school can maintain its small classrooms so that the children can continue to do
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I beg to differ with the aforemention reviews. I find PS 268 to be a very nice school with concientious teachers and very personable administrative staff. I find that their teaching techniques are very mainstream and geared towards motivating children to meet their full potential. I am pleased with his educational progress and I as a parent endeavor to reinforce the teaching at home. I've been to different schools in district 29 and my impression is while the curriculum's are governed by the DOE, teachers and parents together must help our child learn it. If the child isn't understanding the teacher then, we as parents must endeavor to utilize whatever resources to help our child 'get it'. PS 268 is a 'great school', one that I would reccommend to any parent looking for a great enviorment and learning institution for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I rate this school low because they give these kids work that they don't understand. The teachers like to yell at them instead of reviewing with them. When you speak to these teachers the only thing they say is ' Your child is lazy' ' Your child isn't trying' I honestly don't think kids are lazy they are just taught by people that aren't motivated therefore can't motivate them to learn. I took my son to the Score tutoring program and he got exceptional results off their evaluations but in this school his promotion was in doubt. Go figure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I rate this school with very low ratings. The year of 2007 I don't see what my child is learning because the teachers he has are constantly absent. In spanish class, I've completed before about needed text books. The students finally recieved the books but no improvement on what's needs to studied in the book when a test is given. Out of 24 students in my sons class only two students who are spanish passed???????????? In the science class students who are at least 2 minutes late to class are locked out doing the year of 2007. ELA, Okay my child reads books, this is one of the teachers who's constantly absent but yet I don't see any learning taking place. In math the students can only bring home the work book but not the text book. I complained about that and was told the math books are too heavy????????????????
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 50% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 24% 9%
Hispanic 1 20% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 4% 1%
White 1 1% 48%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 277%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 15%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 36%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 378 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
5.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
5.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents16835%
Students17093%
Teachers4095%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LISSA GRANT-STEWART

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

92-07 175th St
Jamaica, NY 11433
Phone: (718) 206-3240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 95 Eastwood
Jamaica, NY


Al-Mamoor School
Queens, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT