Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Cullen Bryant High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2944 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

151 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2014

Though there are trouble makers, just like any other school, I really am enjoying my learning experience here. If you keep your focus and if you WANT to learn, then I recommend this school. There are so many programs and after school activities to get involved in and most of the teachers are not bad. It does have a bad reputation, but the school is getting better and better as time goes on. I thought I wasn't going to like it here, but I do. (I am a freshman here currently)


Posted March 14, 2014

Horrible horrible horrible!!!! Teachers are disrespectful they fail you out of them not liking you or out of spite. When you get out of school you see a lot of gang affiliated kids infront of the deli, you see trouble makers, kids making awful a lot of noise, you see kids disrespecting pedestrians. It's so awful, I recommend everybody not to send your child here. The councilors never have time to listen to what you have to say except one or two of them it's beyond crazy in bryant. Don't send your child here for your own sake.


Posted January 21, 2014

Didn't like the teachers or students,2 teachers were great,1 was not nice another couldn't spell,when I went here I ended up meeting the wrong crowd and my life went down hill I wish I had stayed in private school


Posted November 10, 2013

Amazing school. It is very big the teachers actually teach. The kids have respect for others. Overall a 10/10.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2013

NO AIR CONDITONING. IT FEELS AS IF I AM GETTING BOILED ALIVE IN THERE. VERY DISSAPOINTING


Posted August 12, 2013

There are positives and negatives to going to this school. If your child is planning to come there is a talent show in December at my school. The main focus is academics. Many students and teachers are friendly with you. However, there is at least 30 students per class to one teacher. I won't deny that our school doesn't have any air conditioner but, that is a minor thing. The food is delicious. When your a freshman though it's confusing to get to class. Some people there treat you very kindly. They have hands on activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2012

This is one of the most amazing schools I have ever had the pleasure to encounter and become a part of. This school symbolizes that where ever a student wants to suceed, he can. This school has wonderful resources that help students become as prepared as can be to move forward in life and in college. The teachers who work here know what they are doing and always guide students in the right path, leaving the students to decide on what to do. The students who really want to suceed and take advantage of what the school has to offer, will find it here at Bryant High School.


Posted April 25, 2012

I am a Wlm C. Bryant H.S. alumni and it was and is a great school, should not be closed under any circumstances!!!! Closing the school down would be devastating


Posted April 3, 2012

i love this school the best school ever i hope this school doesnt close the teachers are good teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2011

Great school. I highly recommend this school. Many programs. Student must get involved in some activity. There is something for everyone. Teachers give a lot! Many give more time than they have to. For some reason, Parents don't get involved with PA meetings and they should. This is their childs school. We all want good things for our children. Mr Perez , the AP and Teachers have increased the graduation rate under Mr Perez supervision. If more Parents would get involved, word would get around on how good this school really is. No safety issues here either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

this school changed my life. i saw things i would have never imagined, saw so many people change in a matter of months. i still think about the friends i made my first year and never got to see again because they dropped out. i never belonged here, (i knew that the first day i came into this school), but somehow i was able to keep myself sane and focus on my studies. not many kids can do that, i had the constant support of my parents. some teachers were helpful too, though if you are a quiet and smart kid you will always stand out. i don't recommend going here if you/your child is easily "influenced" there's too many kids attending this school who have already gone down the wrong path, unfortunately. if you're already attending, i suggest you make the most out of it.


Posted August 8, 2010

this school is horrible. as a student I am extremely disappointed of the kids, the teachers, and the actual school. i feel like i am smarter than the teachers and that the school might be discriminating against students that are of less intelligence. they lump them in to these classes that are a lost cause. the teachers don't seem to care if the students pass or not in these classes, its not their problem... they just want their pay. some of the teachers are OK... however they mostly teach the more privileged classes such as the honors and AP classes that i take. i feel sorry for the kids in my area that are forced to go to this school....going there was the biggest mistake of my life and i am finally graduating as a senior in 2011. i wouldn't wish this upon my worst enemy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2010

Bryant High School is amazing! I'm actually the bryant union president and am honored to be part of bryants legacy <3! Anyone would be lucky to attend bryant!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2010

bryant highschool if ur child needs educatuion go take your child there best school support time ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2009

I graduated from Bryant and my daughter did also. Great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

As a new immigrant, and also as a successful graduate student, I have to tell how grateful high school is Bryant. It influences in my life to develop my carrier as well it gave me hope and dignity .I still remember that day when I immigrated to U.S.A, and I didn t know that much English. All of my teachers from Bryant helped me develop my English. Today I am attending a college. Within two years I graduated, and it was unbelievable for me. I want to give all the credit to my teachers who helped me build my carrier. I will never forget them. I love them as my parents and I always will. Bryant is the best and they deserve to win this price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Bryant High School is a school where everyone respects eachother. We have many club activities that get students to socialize and be involved with the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2009

Good student life, great teachers and education
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2009

Bryant is the best school in New York!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2009

the atmosphere; location; people; the motivation; best sports programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

1121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

41 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

470 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

594 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

1202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

23 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

818 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

306 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

906 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students65%
Female65%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population65%
English language learners45%
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant65%

Chemistry

All Students73%
Female73%
Male72%
African American73%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%

Earth Science

All Students59%
Female54%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander58%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities29%
General population62%
English language learners41%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%

English

All Students64%
Female68%
Male61%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities38%
General population68%
English language learners32%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%

Geometry

All Students68%
Female66%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities75%
General population68%
English language learners59%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%

Global History and Geography

All Students57%
Female50%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander58%
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities34%
General population60%
English language learners37%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%

Integrated Algebra

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities38%
General population80%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%

Living Environment

All Students66%
Female65%
Male68%
African American53%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities36%
General population70%
English language learners34%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%

Physics

All Students77%
Female82%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%

U.S. History and Government

All Students65%
Female64%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities28%
General population69%
English language learners40%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 49% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 29% 9%
White 1 14% 48%
Black 1 7% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 118%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 164%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2139 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents52021%
Students151858%
Teachers10164%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. NAMITA DWARKA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Transportation options
  • Busses - Q101, Q104, Q18, Q66. Subways - M, R to 46th St; E to Northern Blvd
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

48-10 31st Ave
Long Island City, NY 11103
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 721-5404

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Long Island City High School
Long Island City, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT