Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


51 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 1

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Yes this is only the first week of school and your child is a sophomore but my child was there until his junior year and then he left. He was bullied by others who competed with him. Teachers there don't teach. They shove the kids with loads of attachments on pupilpath and lots of reading and they expect kids to teach themselves. Pupilpath is never updated, teachers lose HW , and they look down on the arts. As far as the principal is concerned, she's a total deadbeat. There were times that she did't even attend concerts and when she did, she never once appeared on stage to thank the hard work that the kids and the teachers did. I called many times to address some issues of bullying and no one ever did anything about it. I wrote to the principal, no call, no apology, no nothing. This school building is beautiful but there is definite dark side on the part of the administration. All I know is if your kid goes there, look out for signs of anxiety and depression. Unless this administration is thrown out, this school will drive a lot of good and talented kids crazy!
1 person found this helpful

Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
A wonderful school for any student who is fortunate enough to attend. Our child is a sophomore in this school and our experience has been nothing short of fantastic. From the talented students to the teachers and to the highly supportive administration-this school is a well oiled and highly organized machine that runs on the love and support of everyone. I am a picky parent and I will say that we are very satisfied with the education that our child is receiving and will feel a sense of loss when she graduates this school. What a great school this is, do not pass up the opportunity to attend this school, you won't be sorry. By the way, this is only the 5th full day of classes, not every administrator is available to students and parents as scheduling is being tweaked (went through this last Freshman year with our own child-smooth sailing now as a sophomore) this week. Pick up the phone and call the school if you are experiencing any issues, someone will get back to you.


Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 2

Posted September 09, 2014
- a student
Unfortunately my experience as a student at Sinatra isn't as great as I expected it to be. Of course the talented student body is diverse, welcoming, and hardworking and the teachers for the most part are well qualified and engaging however Sinatra's biggest let down is their entire administrative staff. The school's principal is nothing more then a figure head who is never seen without her iPhone, much of the administrators have little to no gratitude for the arts, and most of the administrators are lazy, trying to do as little work as they possibly can and striving for mediocrity. It's very unfortunate that throughout my time in Sinatra I have found myself complaining about the dis functionality of the school and the carelessness that the administration works with, at least once a month. I wish I could give the school a better rating, as high school should be a time fondly remembered, but my fond memories with friends and teachers are clouded by all the unfond memories of the administration.

Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 1

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
One MAJOR fault: lazy, careless administration who cares less about the students but more about how terribly difficult the kids make their lives. I'm very sorry that the students make you do your job, a job that regardless is usually left undone or comes out to be nothing more then mediocre. Steer clear steer clear steer clear.

Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 1

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointed with this school. Tried to talk to teachers and principal about issues and never got a response. We have never seen the principal. Teachers seem to think if they make the subject "difficult" , that means "rigorous",which most people equate with a good school. There is very little classroom instruction. Teachers love to fail students at this school. Our daughter's doing well and still wants to leave. I would advise parents who are okay with even a mediocre education to steer clear of this school. On the other hand the arts are good. But if your child wants a career in the arts, they will need outside instruction.


Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 4

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
My daughter graduated in 2011 she was a National Honor Society inductee @ FSSA. Having the Arts along with their rigourous program is just what inspires the teachers, and students to succeed. My daughter was a Dance Major. The teachers, and VIce Principal made it very easy for the students to take their work seriously. While no school is perfect, FSSA is truly a wonderful place to prepare our children for the next phase of their lives.

Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 3

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
My child graduated in 2012 (visual arts)-an achieving student in an excellent 4 year school with funding. I say this DESPITE my student's academic education at FSSA. By sophomore year it became clear to him that though his art education (which he loves) stretched him as an artist, his academics were weak and not going to get him into a school where he could do both art and academics. He was motivated to supplement with several COLLEGE NOW classes, 2 of the very few APs offered. In addition his SATs were excellent-having nothing to do with FSSA. If your student is SURE that their art is the ONLY interest for the future-FSSA will likely get you into a good conservatory program which is what the school does best-for their best students. Non--art schools want to know why you don't have 4 years of coursework in academic subjects. The student community are largely good kids. Though there are some good teachers, this school is very small, often with one teacher per subject.. If that teacher doesn't step up to the plate, the kids don't learn and don't pass regents. This happens. THINK TWICE as this school academically caters to the lowest common denominator.

Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 4

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
2 of our kids have attended FSSA. One is a Junior at NYU Tische and the other is currently an FSSA Sophomore. The school is as it says, a "School for the Arts". Like LaGuardia, it's main focus is on getting the kids ready for a career in the arts however do not think that the academics are poor. My Sophomore is taking a AP class and has excellent grades. Sure there are othere more academically challenging schools in NYC. If that's what you feel your child needs, then send them there. Why go thru the motions of auditioning and perhaps taking a seat from another talented child. The school has had it's challenges through the years but for the most part there has been a genuine effort to address those challenges with students and parents alike. It is an excellent choice and the facility is "World-Class".


Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 4

Posted February 05, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman in the vocal program and I too read negative comments. There is no "perfect" school but this school is GREAT!!! She has already grown as a vocalist and in keyboard. She has a confidence in herself and her abilities. The school work is challenging and she is very, very, very happy. There is NO bullying and people are accepting of others even if they are different. There is no discipline issues and I am a picky parent. For those who are thinking of a good school filled with good and talented students then Frank Sinatra is for them. The staff is very nice and so is the guidance counselors. There are various clubs to join and they are open to starting one if interested. The shows are great and the students work hard to be professional.

Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School 5

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
my daughter worked very hard and was lucky to make this school as a sophomore. the standards are relatively high considering what this wonderful school has to offer. all parents should see that making a specialized school is a privilege. the so-called gifted or very talent students are simply the hardest workers. disciplined practice is a must. your reward from this school is actually a 4 year scholarship which must be cherished. work hard then work harder. preparation and opportunity lead to luck. the competition in ny is strong.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School
35-12 35th Ave, Long Island City, NY  11106
(718) 361-9920
Last modified Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Frank Sinatra School Of The Arts High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 51 reviews.