Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marlboro Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 697 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2013

I hate Marlboro. The high school needs a new principal and better music teachers. Everytime a kid sticks up for themselves because of the way a teacher is to them, the kid gets in trouble when it's the teacher's fault. I think the district needs to get their act together and pay attention to the teachers they have working in the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

As a former graduate who is currently a teacher in another local district, I feel that I can accurately attest to the quality of education within the Marlboro Central School District. After reading previous reviews, I can say that when I was a student it was a safe school and still, in comparison with other districts in the Mid-Hudson Valley region that have students enrolled with a similar socio-economic background. After reading reviews about the teaching staff, I can only say this. I absolutely guarantee that Marlboro has the highest percent of teachers who are former graduates of the district. This may be a deciding factor if you are not originally part of this town are are looking into moving here. Many cliques are formed and the small-town feel may become an issue. Although each district has its share of nepotism, having a faculty that lacks diversity often hinders a conducive learning environment. Lastly, I'd like to say before choosing a district, take into account that anyone can review a school and their reviews may bias because of their own experiences.


Posted January 30, 2012

I graduated from Marlboro a few years ago, I have siblings that are going there now and the school is horrible. To answer some of the other reviews - we grew up in the area and did not "move in" nor were any of us bad students that "didn't put in effort". My siblings and I are all in the top 10-15% or our classes and yeah we still think the school is horrible. Why? 1.) Teachers teach classes they are not qualified for and try to be friends to the students more than teachers. Many times the teacher would say one thing and I would read on the internet or textbook a completely different thing - there are some good ones, but most teachers don't know their stuff. And many times they spend half of the class gossiping with the students about dating or the latest TV shows. 2.) Students are not encouraged to take AP classes or expand their knowledge. AP is offered but students are not challenged to take the courses and in fact are discouraged from the "extra work" if it is not needed for their chosen career (this is not just me but many of my peers experienced this too). 3.) College prep courses are not offered and most students get poor SAT scores and go to second rate colleges


Posted September 12, 2011

I know that many people complain about Marlboro being too small and too crowded, but I feel that it is a wonderful school. I went to school everyday feeling safe and knowing that I was getting out what I was putting in. If you did the work, you got a lot out of the classes. Most of the teachers were very friendly and willing to help the students. My favorite teachers were always the ones who took the time to get to know, and relate to, the students. I just graduated in 2009, and one day when I have children, I know that I want them to go to Marlboro, or a school very similar to it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2011

A school is only as good as the effort put into learning. A teacher can't force a student to do homework or study. THAT is on the parents.I am not related to anyone here. My son loves the teachers. Not so much the snotty students but he makes friends with the other kids who are shunned by selfish, bratty, spoiled kids. While dealing with strong emotional problems that got in the way of his learning, the staff got together at MIS and helped me get a teaching schedule together for him of what he needed. He is moving on to MMS this year and is super excited about it. It's not the most super advanced school, but the homeowners in the area would rather spoil their kids than pitch in to make the school better for all. If you are self centered, DON'T MOVE HERE! We have enough, thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

I'm assuming that the negative and "narrow-minded" reviews were written by those who have "moved-in- to" the area and were not among those who grew up there and have families who grew up there as well. Granted it is NOT what is WAS, but it's NOT because of the teaching staff or education offered, but more-so due to the fact that kids don't take it seriously anymore. So what if it's "old"..it's a quaint little town...why ruin the little towns and the magic they hold? Education is education, no matter where it is or how modern it is.


Posted November 22, 2009

I grow increasingly disappointed at the level of education my son receives. Teacher follow through is non-existent. Parent communication does not exist. And because I am not related to anyone here, my son's accomplishments will always be over shadowed by some mediocre kid. Life just aint' fair. My son looks forward to getting out of this place, going to college and moving some place else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great teaching staff. (and a nice planetarium :<)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

I believe this school is outrageous. The overall appearance of the school resembles that of a school from the 1950's that has not caught up with current advances in technology and education or even proper cleanliness of the school. Most teachers are there just to demand higher salary while doing a poor or mediocre job at teaching. I also believe that being situated in such a small town, the narrow-mindedness and old ways of thinking have sunk into the school, most of its teachers and eventually the students. There needs to be revolutionary changes done to Marlboro High School or else its student will never be successful in the real world, a education facility having the setting close to that of medieval times sending students out into the world of the 21st century? It's preposterous !
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2008

This school has given me the skills, knowledge and resources I needed to succeed. I am now a college Junior with an education major.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2007

I believe the students and teachers have more work to complete than there is time in the school year. This means too much home work for the children and benchmarks not met. Many times ther isn't any time to review at the end of the year. I believe in a longer school year or a longer school day to achieve this . There is also a problem of with some teachers who are just there to collect a salary! I believe in merit pay to reward the achievers and punish the under achievers of our faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

Given the proper leadership the high school would be excellent. The truth is that the principal is horrible and our community needs to demand better. We have an obligation to offer our children the very best and as of today we have not done that. The middle school principal is a shining example of what leadership is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

i believe the principal has no leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2004

This school is excellent! It has a fantastic faculty and continues to ensure that students leave high school who are civic oriented and intelligent young Americans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

This school has been excellent in all aspects of my child's life. My son has gone from a wiley street thug to a strong minded gentleman while attending that school. I don't know whether it's the teachers or other students that are helping him, but I owe it all to that school. Anyone would be lucky to have a child attending a school with such power over a students choice of being a better person. I am glad I sent my son there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
82%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

151 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

193 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

17 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

179 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

199 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students51%
Students with disabilities20%
General population52%

Chemistry

All Students95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Earth Science

All Students89%
Students with disabilities68%
General population93%

English

All Students93%
Students with disabilities84%
General population94%

Geometry

All Students72%
Students with disabilities25%
General population75%

Global History and Geography

All Students76%
Students with disabilities48%
General population81%

Integrated Algebra

All Students77%
Students with disabilities37%
General population85%

Living Environment

All Students93%
Students with disabilities87%
General population94%

Physics

All Students87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population87%

U.S. History and Government

All Students92%
Students with disabilities72%
General population96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 48%
Hispanic 9% 23%
Black 8% 19%
Asian 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 21%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Cross Rd
Marlboro, NY 12542
Phone: (845) 236-5810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakwood Friends School
Poughkeepsie, NY



Spackenkill High School
Poughkeepsie, NY




Faith Christian Academy
Poughkeepsie, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT