Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Maspeth High School

Public | 9-10 | 494 students

Our school is best known for being a classical liberal arts high school.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

Listen to the students reviews not the 1 or 2 parents who probably have kids in the school who are not doing well. This is a wonderful school, period !! Yes the staff is young but this school has the most dedicated teachers I have ever seen. And yes the students are wonderful and respectful. Believe me, I have been around a long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

GREEN CLUB MEMBER HONORED AT DOE HEADQUARTERS Congratulations to Maspeth Green Club member Thomas Farrell! Thomas has been honored as one of fifteen winners in the Department of Education's Energy Conservation Calendar Contest. Thomas' artwork was chosen from more than 1200 entries. The piece of art will be featured in June of next year's sustainability calendar, printed for all schools in the DOE. Thomas attended an award ceremony at Tweed Courthouse, the headquarters of Chancellor Farina, and received a certificate and an IPad. Mr. Bell, the MHS Green Club Advisor and Thomas' family were proud to join him at the ceremony.


Posted January 29, 2014

Dear parents and students. Please ignore the commentary you've heard from Maspeth High School in the past. Maspeth is in the process to become one of the best High School in queens. In my opinion they are almost at that level. This school offers great opportunities in achieving. Maspeth is just not a High School but a classical school. why is that? Maspeth offers 3yrs of Latin and hopefully 1yr of Ancient Greek. Not only that but Maspeth offers 4 different types of electives which are; Theater, Art, Dance, and Music (classical). Maspeth high school has over 30 clubs and over 8 varsity that students are able to join. Maspeth those have a strict dress code, which helps the students be prepared for the future. Maspeth has two counselors but to be honest any teacher will always be able to help students when they need help, specially that teachers ages are from mid 20's and high 30's. Maspeth High School prepares the students for college in many ways, and one of the, is the material. Students at Maspeth read over 8 books a year and they are college books. AP (advance placement) classes are offer as well. MASPETH HIGH SCHOOL IS THE SCHOOL YOU NEED TO ACHIEVE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2014

Listen parents, if you have a bad imagine on Maspeth High School because you're concerned on their grades, well you've got it wrong. This school is the best thing that has happened to that area. If your child isn't performing well, then they should attend Office Hours. It is mandatory for the teacher to be in their office hours even if no student shows up sometimes they stay more than one day. The school isn't bad, it's an ordinary high school. I love my teacher and I'm in love with the fact that they're mostly young adults. I gives us that connection and their enthusiasm excites us when learning. Whether you go to Townsend or Newtown, there will be those kids who smoke or drink. It's part of the high school. So, if you want a high school that doesn't have that then you better result to home school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2013

I don't go to this school ,:Dut I walk passed it every day because my school is is.73 so its close . I Also walked past many other high schools and theres a big difference this school is very very clean , Many sun lighy , windows huge huge windows . The students are very quickly arrange ,no gangs that wait near the school . ThERES lockers !! And many many programs. They have a backyard sl clean freshh !!!!! I believe thats werr the swimming pool will be . IF YOU ARE PLANNING ON GOING TO THIS SCHOOL , I TOTALLY RECOMMEND IT !!! :D


Posted October 6, 2013

Okay i'm going to end some of these lies. Maspeth HS is great okay. Yes, the principle looks like he's about to kick somebody and seems to be unreachable. and yea the loss of Garg sucks. If your concern is for the students, there are counselors, they help us. We just have to go to them cause lets admit it, they don't have mind powers. As for the teachers, honestly i think its nice that they are young. They're enthusiastic and STOP saying they don't know what they are doing cause honestly, these teachers know damn well what they are doing. They do their best to help everyone and even stay after school to help students. ITS CALLED OFFICE HOURS. IF YOUR KID STRUGGLES TELL THEM TO GO THERE OR THEY SHOULD BE SMART ENOUGH TO GO THEMSELVES. its the students who choose not to listen cause if it was the teachers then EVERYONE would be having trouble with grades or tests BUT WE DON'T. We have honor students, i am an honor student. Key word: STUDENT. i see what is happening, i see how teachers work their hardest to help us and I see the students choosing to be lazy, not paying attention and using the teachers and an excuse for their failures. Excuse the mistakes. You get the message.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2013

Ms. Garg left the school. I did speak to her over the summer. I'm not sure where she went. As far as this school. It is a total nightmare. The Principal makes sure to avoid everyone. You MUST FOLLOW THE CHAIN OF COMMAND. He has stated that in one of the PTA meetings. So if you want to get somewhere in this school I suggest you deal with the district. Sorry I cannot help more. I too have many issues with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Does anyone know what happened to Ms. Garg - the assistant principal? Ms. Garg was always available and listened to students and parents alike - who did most of Mr. Abdul's work! Once again, he's hired new teachers, who are inexperienced and once again he's not available for anyone. He has run out last year's teachers and now our kids are suffering again with inexperienced ones. He needs to become a more involved with the kids and the parents. I've dealt with high school principals in way more crowded schools who were much more approachable than this man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

The results at Maspeth High School are nothing short of amazing. There are over 30 different clubs & sports teams for kids to participate in. Its great to finally have a high school in our district that is high performing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

Can you please give examples of what is so bad of this school? This would be helpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

This school is horrible. I am concerned for my child who goes here. I would rather have them go to our zoned school. their are bad influences about in the halls. The teachers don't actually care about individual students. i honestly think the faculty is there to just get paid.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school PS 128
PS 49
PS 102
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Golden Apple Award (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Ballet & Modern
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Classic Club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Khurshid Abdul-Mutakabbir
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (718) 803-7105

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Pre-law

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Laughing River
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club: Ballet & Modern
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Classic Club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
250
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
1600
Students typically come from these schools
PS 128
PS 49
PS 102

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

54-40 74th St.
Maspeth, NY 11373
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 803-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 290
Maspeth, NY


Ps 330
Elmhurst, NY




Ming Yuan Chinese
Elmhurst, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT