Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Margarets School

Private | PK-6 | 240 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mattydale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter completed full time Pre-K 4 at St. Margaret's last year (12-13). It was a wonderful experience. The staff is excellent, they all know the kids. They exposed the kids to various special classes that they were assigned to once a week: Technology, Spanish, Gym. Library and Music. I never had any problems with any teacher. The parents are very involved. Very sad to leave to school due to an out of state move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

I have two children in St. Margaret's School now. One going into second grade and one going into PreK-4. The school is well maintained and secure. The before and after school programs are great. We have had great experiences here and will continue sending our children here through grade 6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have 2 children that attend St. Margarets School, one in second grade and one in the Pre-K 4 program. We looked at many schools before making our decision and knew it was the right place the minute we were greated at the door. The staff is extremely helpful and there is a true family feel at the school. I feel my children are getting a great education while building strong moral values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

I have two boys and have been a St. Margaret's parent since 2000 and will continue to have a child there until 2012. St. Margaret's has wonderful teachers that go above and beyond for their students. Academically they are excellent but beyond that they teach children values that will make them better people. In the past few years they have added Spanish for all grade levels. Extra curricular activities include soccer, basketball, floor hockey, karate, dancing. Their AM/PM and summer program are all faculty run. St. Margaret's is a warm, caring school where teachers lead by example. Please visit the school to see all it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

We have two (2) daughters who attend St. Margaret's and we all absolutley love it! From the first moment we stepped foot into St. Margaret's, we knew we had found something truly unique and special! It has been almost 4 years since that initial visit (at an Open House) and we still have that 'warm family feeling' when we walk through the doors! They may not have all the extras that a public school has, but they have what matters most: caring, nurturing staff. It is so comforting to know that they are in excellent hands and that I do not have worry about them while I am at work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

We've had nothing but a positive experience at St. Margaret's. Our son is the second generation to attend the school and the quality of education, emphasis on spirituality, and the compassion of the teachers is outstanding. Our son has made wonderful friends, as have we through the tight-knit community that the school is. An added bonus for us as working parents is the quality of the after school program and summer program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

We have had a very positive experience at St. Margaret's. We feel that the school has grown so much over the past two years. They have added exposure to a foreign language, new computers and technology. The principal has challenged staff and brought a new way of thinking to educating our children. The school is also adding intramural soccer this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

There sports program consists of only Basketball. There are no extracurricular activities. There class sizes are getting rather large. I feel the school is going downhill from what it used to be. Some of the children treat the other children very poorly and nothing is done to stop this. I feel the school is segregated by demographics, where you live is how you get treated, the more money you have the better the parents and children are treated. Not what it used to be!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I am very impressed with everyone at St. Margaret's. The teachers and staff are wonderful. The kids love going to school. The behavior of the students is impeccable. It's obvious that there is equal emphasis on behavior and acedemics. I never enter the building that a young person doesn't greet me and hold the door for me. The curriculum is constantly growing and the kids respond enthusiasticly to all the programs. The before and after care programs are outstanding not to mention a lifesaver. I Can't say enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

The staff, parents, and students are truly a family at St. Margaret's.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2007

My son has attended St Margarets since 1st Gr, wish we sent him for Kindergarten too, he is now in 4th Gr. Faith and Education are integral to St Margaret's. He is happy, healthy and safe. There are Before and After School Programs and even a Summer Camp with weekly field trips. Teachers are devoted and caring and exemplify our Catholic identity. Come for a tour and see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

Our daughter attends St. Margaret's and receives a wonderful education! She is with faculty that support her and help her to succeed. Education with the Catholic faith intertwined is a plus in today's society. The afterschool program and summer programs are wonderful. The kids are in a safe enviroment and have a great time. Next year our son will attend as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

My son was very shy and introverted. I enrolled him in St. Margaret's in the 6th grade, wish I had done it sooner. St. Margaret's was the best thing I could have done for him. And he enjoyed going to school, too! His teacher was wonderful. It's too bad St. Margaret's only goes up to 6th grade, we're going to miss it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 52%
Asian 7% N/A
Black 2% 21%
Hispanic 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susanne M. Donze
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Syracuse
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Roxboro Road
Mattydale, NY 13211
Phone: (315) 455-5791

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Lyncourt School
Syracuse, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT