Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Andrew Muller Primary School

Public | K-2 | 634 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

Excellent primary school! The teachers are fabulous and really care about my children. There is constant communication and my children are so happy to go to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

My grandkids attend Andrew Muller and I am impressed with the teachers they have had and their educational progress. I live in California and see a huge difference between the schools here I've experienced, and the quality at Andrew Muller.


Posted December 22, 2009

We left Smithtown Schoold district to come to Miller Place, We are glad we did. Our child was not doing that well in Smithtown Schools, they had large class sizes and the one to one attention was not there. When we moved to Miller Place we felt as if we were going to a private school. What school does the principle call you to informe as well as ask about your childs progress. Could not be happier. A+++++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

coming from three village school district,(setauket elem) which is suppose to have such a good reputation, I love Andrew Muller. When my child was in K in Setauket he came home telling me he was bored. He is not bored here and is being challenged. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Smaller town and school with familiarity of students and family and alot of willingness to work with parents regarding any and all issues. Educationally superior. Teachers care regarding the progress of every child. Fantastic principal & office staff. Wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

This school really cares about their students. A must get into school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

Although Andrew Muller has many students, it feels like a small private school due to the accessibility to the principal and others in the school. The staff is great. Academically, the school is above-average. From what I have seen, the students and parents are very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

Although the extrcurricular activities are extremely limited, the education is exceptional. Parents are highly involved as are the teachers and entire staff. The principal goes out of her way to know each and every child by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 89% 48%
Hispanic 2 5% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
Two or more races 1 2% 1%
Black 2 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 81%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LAURA GEWURZ

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65 Lower Rocky Pt Rd
Miller Place, NY 11764
Phone: (631) 474-2715

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sound Beach School
Miller Place, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT