Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public district
Nedrow, NY
Students enrolled: 396
 

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Onondaga Senior High School 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from OCS in 2010. This school is amazing. Very few people in this world can say that their advisor truly cared about his or herself as a person, not only to graduate, but to succeed in life as a contributing member of society. I had Mrs. Kurucz as my advisor and she is but one of the amazing staff members at this school. The only downside of OCS that I can remember is that before, say, junior year, there is a lot of teasing that goes on. But that happens in most schools. The difference with OCS is that during junior year, everyone stops listening to the teasing and the little side comments, and literally about 95% of the class are friends. The other 5% tends to be the kids that continue to attempt to tease the other students and, most of the time, they don't end up graduating. I love Onondaga Central as a school. It gave me an amazing childhood, and if you are worried about the teasing that ensues, I can assure you that the education, the friendships, and the experiences will outway the teasing. I know because I was teased until 11th grade and I still love the school and wouldn't change anything that happened in my time there.

Onondaga Senior High School 4

Posted January 14, 2011
- a community member
I went to school here from 7-12 and graduated in 1959 . I was the only foreign born Jewish student and enjoyed my stay here ! My Favorit, best teach was Mr. Mecalf . What he taught me was, teaching has nothing to do with the amount of money the school district needs or has. He was the best teacher I have ever had. I graduated from Syracuse Univercity in 1964, and prior went to Mohawk tech, in Utica for 2 yrs. to get a Associate degree. I even went to Stanford U. for my Master's degree in 1973 . Now that I will be 71 yrs. young in Northern California, I will never forget or have warm memories of his class and his create ways to present his learning materials ! I will never forget my guidance teacher adviser told me I better take a trade school class, since you will never get into college !


Onondaga Senior High School 5

Posted March 14, 2010
- a student
I attended Onondaga and the six years I spent there (7-12 grades) were fantastic. I was in the honors and AP classes offered, and the teachers were great and are willing to help you with whatever you need help on. Theres an activity period after school/before practices that allows students to get extra help or work on their homework during athletic studyhall. The extra curricular activities are great too. I was involved in three sports and all of my coaches were excellent. I wish I could keep going to OCS...forever. I loved it that much. I would definitely send my kids there.

Onondaga Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2010
- a student
I go to the highschool as a student and I truthfully really don't like it here. I play for the football team and I think the school has great athletics but the education is rediculous the teachers don't care about the students at all. DO NOT go to this school. Go to Lafayette or tully they are way better educated

Onondaga Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
It is just what a high school should be in an amazing location with amazing educators and after school programs for artists and actors music lovers and on and on and state Champion sport teams.


Onondaga Senior High School 4

Posted August 26, 2009
- a student
This is school is alright, academics are exceptional, athletics could be better, and extracurricular activities are alright. It's pretty small, but that gives you a chance to connect more with teachers and seek help if needed, there are many AP and Honors classes. The school is not dangerous, it's about as dangerous as a new born kitten.

Onondaga Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
I thought this school was excellent. Children are taught not to bully and the principal is excellent. Kids are in line ! I highly recommend this school. Good academics and athletics.

Onondaga Senior High School 4

Posted November 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Onondaga Senior High School 4

Posted July 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Onondaga Senior High School 1

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Onondaga Senior High School
4479 South Onondaga Road, Nedrow, NY  13120
(315) 552-5020
Last modified Onondaga Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Onondaga Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top