Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Great Hollow Middle School 1

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
Great hollow is OK if your child had no special needs. My son graduated from there with no issues. However the sports teams is who you know decides if your kid get play time. My daughter has a learning disability and instead of getting the help she needed was simply labeled LAZY. The staff couldn't careless of the needs of individual students that need extra lessons or attention. HORRIBLE
1 person found this helpful

Great Hollow Middle School 1

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
AWESOME SCHOOL if you are a natural student that needs little or no attention or guidance. HORRIBLE if you have a child that needs attention or has a learning disability. Did you know that the policy at this school is to PASS EVERYONE. No Joke, Everyone passes no matter what the grade is, and if they aren't passing the teachers will change the grade (it happened to my kid). The district doesn't have a summer school program, they just "move up" the kids until they get into High School. This is the only time the kids need to actually pass a class, but even in this situation, instead of TEACHING STUDENTS they come up with a grading system so your child passes (like they will treat homework like a test grade so they will pass). Again, there is NO SUMMER SCHOOL PROGRAM for those that are struggling or need additional support to grasp the concepts and move forward. IF YOUR CHILD ISN'T A NATURAL STUDENT Run for the Hills and get your child into a new school (district) and save them from all the frustration and aggravation.
1 person found this helpful


Great Hollow Middle School 1

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
very disappointing first able principle lack of commitment and leadership assistant principle is the only one that take action. teachers has lack of methodology , no encouragement to do more if they can, academics not challenging enough too easy when it comes to homework teachers usually let students do homework in the study hall and students take that place as fun area teachers are there and do not care lack of commitment when it comes to productive time academically and basic discipline dressing code is very inappropriate, bathroom are disgusting, very poor cooling system teachers and students are dieing from heat they have to share the portable fun oh my gosh? how can this happen to this area.i can from another state there from the greeter area was what you call really technology, sparkle shine professional and efficient management in an overall way what a different? here you have to register with paper and pencil poor technology system in an area where taxes are expensive with that kind of education ridiculous i had to withdrawal my girl to look a better place where she can really learn and get encouragement, challenging academically less than mediocre is my rating

Great Hollow Middle School 1

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are extremely unfair. They don't test in an objective way. Grading is not based on academic accomplishment so much as whether the child does homework and hands in pieces of paper unrelated to anything actually academic. My daughter is exceptional at Math - three years advanced - and is only getting a B+. Unfairness is key here and grading is ridiculous. And the students receive no encouragement to do more if they can. Less than mediocre is my rating.

Great Hollow Middle School 4

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
The teachers and academics are outstanding. The students learn very well and the teachers are great. The school itself is average, not very cleanly in places such as the bathroom or gym mats. The way the school handles misbehavior and problems seem to be unfair from what I hear from others. Some kids get suspended for saying insults, while others walk away free for other worse things. Other than that my kids loved attending here and are now in high school.


Great Hollow Middle School 3

Posted May 31, 2011
- a community member
Good teachers and academics, school bathrooms are disgusting, it gets very hot and students like like they are dieing from the heat. Bad justice system for children who get in trouble. Over all it's ok.

Great Hollow Middle School 5

Posted June 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Great Hollow Middle School 4

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Great Hollow Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 27, 2007
- a parent
after school clubs are without a bus home no after care offered for working parents of middle school kids kids walking home who live with in a mile. No security at back gate.

Great Hollow Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
The academic programs at Great Hollow are outstanding! When we first moved here that was the most notable improvement, my kids scored much better on the NYS Assessment tests. Parental involvement is welcomed and encouraged here. The chorus and orchestra performances are always exceptional.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Great Hollow Middle School
150 Southern Boulevard, Nesconset, NY  11767
(631) 382-2805
Last modified Great Hollow Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Great Hollow Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top