Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Iona Grammar School

Private | K-8 | 195 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Rochelle

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $623,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2014

Ditto review of April. As one parent observed last year the kindergarten staff are wonderful. However, afterwards, the staff are more interested in their egos and paycheck than in your child. The textbooks are mediocre.. Not worth ANY tuition! Parents have been pulling out their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2014

It is a horrible school, the teachers don't care about the children. There has also been bullying causing kids to leave in the middle of the year. High tuition, not worth it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

Iona Grammar is the only all boys school in Westchester County. For the 2013-2014 school year, Iona Grammar s name becomes Iona Prep. Sending our son to this school gives us peace of mind knowing he is in a safe, loving environment starting in kindergarten. Enrichment programs are available at all grade levels, there are many sports teams, and the afterschool program was a deciding factor when choosing this school. During second grade, the boys prepare for the Sacrament of Reconciliation and First Communion. Teachers are available for parent/teacher conferences to discuss your son s progress throughout the year. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

This is a wonderful school. The early grade teachers, especially, kindergarten are wonderful. While it is true that if your child needs special help, the school may not be able to offer it. However, the school will work with you in getting your child help. Furthermore, the school will get even better with the merger of Iona Prep and IGS. The Prep is listening to the parents' concerns and is already taking measures to address them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

As a parent at the school and reading this story, which of course is fabricated by someone who does not attend our school and is looking to make absurd comments, I find this story both appalling and absurd. # 1, Please get your facts straight, our gym teacher has no children at the school and has no children. # 2. If you want to say something, please be truthful in what you say. Iona Grammar is a great school and if a parent had an issue as such, we have fantastic parent groups that would have assisted. So either this is an unhappy parent looking to say something negative or someone who is no longer at IGS and is just plain bitter. Either way, this story is just not true............
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

I have been EXTREMELY impressed with the high level of qualifications, commitment, consistency, and accomplishments of our new, full-time headmaster. Along with our existing, dedicated teachers, the administration is successfully navigating our school through tough economic times, as well as technological, cultural and educational changes. The curriculums are creative and challenging, fostering the concept of "learning by doing". Teachers are passionate about their individual subjects but are working in concert with one another so that the students see the connections between disciplines. My family feels VERY welcome and happy here, despite not even being Catholic. We think Iona Grammar is an excellent value, preparing our son for the future in every way. We sincerely feel very fortunate to be part of the IGS community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

This private school has a part-time headmaster. The interim headmaster that was placed in September 2011 after the former one abruptly left in June, is only on the premises less than 3 days/ week. The lack of solid leadership is reflected in the school's inability to offer a high quality education. Research this school thoroughly before you sign anything. You may find, as we did, that you are not getting what you paid for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

My son transferred in last year from a local catholic school. The teachers are great, the boys are really nice (no bullying tolerated), the extra curricular programs (i.e. sports teams, chess team, debate, etc) are really good. No parents coach, the that particular bias is eliminated. The class size was 11, as compared to 30 at his old school. All in all, we paid double the previous school's price and really feel we got our money's worth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

Pressure? Very little to none! School hours are from 8 am to 2:30 pm. After school is an additional cost of $25 per day. Fathers and mothers clubs are VERY active in fundraising activities. Very high parental involvement. School does not appear to concentrate on the latest and the greatest in academic methodologies. There are unutlized smartboards. Socializing aspect of the School is exceptional. Boys look forward to going to school each day. Materialism is non-existent at the lower grades. Overall community tends to look to Religious Schools (Fordham and Iona Prep) as the next step. It appears that most parents are content with the academic structure and average nature of the program. Overachievers must supplement education with home academic workload to be on par with other independent schools. Selectivity ratio is extremely high. it does not appear that anyone is rejected which creates a challenging environment for the teachers with kids that are below and above the mean. As a result, teachers teach at the mean. Program is far from being rigorous. Satisfactory program. Great value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

this school is great for sports oriented boys up till 3rd grade. after that it is very challenging environment for any kids that are not super sports centric. Leadership is lacking in connection with parents, but the parent networking is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

The rating for this school may seem satisfactory, but in truth it is not. The rating is only at 4 stars because of parents who do not know what a very good school is truly like. These parents probably came from similar Catholic school environments and so Iona seems like a good school. Iona does not teach its students to go beyond their limits, only to be satisfied with mediocrity. In truth, parents who know and have experienced top-notch schools (like Hackley, Horace Mann, Riverdale, Regis, et al.) understand that Iona does not prepare its students for the challenges in life and so send their children elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

As many of the other reviews stated it is not for middle of the road student, even if you son needs a little help with anything the teachers depart at 3:00 pm daily so there is NO help. If your son loves sports and has his heart set on playing again this is not the school for your son. Often times boys who make the team do NOT play, they watch. If you expect this school to teach your son to be responsible this is not the school.... In other words if your son is GREAT at sports and you can donate a lot of money and he does not need any assistance then perhaps this would be a great school for your grammar school boy.


Posted July 28, 2008

not a good school for mid range or average students. It is not set up to offer extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

I have two boys currently at the school and we are very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

An excellent quality catholic education. A caring faculty that is committed to the overall mental and spiritual development of its students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2006

A perfect school for the concerned parent who not only wants superb academics but is concerned with the teaching of values and morals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2005

Safe school for boys. Small classrooms and beautiful area. Afternoon program available. Happy with school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

Great place - small class size - great care for the boys
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Iona doesn't provide enough support to the middle of the road student. If your son needs additional help it's not available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2005

This school is amazing. The teachers are extremely kind. Going to this school is what helped get me into the high schools of my choice. They prepare you for the TACHS test in November. By going through with the help I don't think I would have done nearly as well.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 52%
Black 16% 21%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • J Kevin Devlin
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

173 Stratton Road
New Rochelle, NY 10804
Phone: (914) 633-7744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Quaker Ridge School
Scarsdale, NY


Greenvale School
Scarsdale, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT