Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dwight School

Private | PK-12 | 782 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $1,035,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

I must strongly disagree with any parent who says that Dwight teachers do not care.(Comment re Quest program below) I have two children who have been attending Dwight for the last three and a half years. Both my kids are very capable but sometimes fall behind due to their active participation in outside sports. All I can say is that whenever either of them have had an issue, the relevant teacher has been right on top of them and in touch with me. The teachers are always willing to meet them after class with some extra help. Any child who has the fortune of attending this wonderful school, I believe to be extremely fortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

If u pay an extra 20,000 dollars a year for the Quest program they will help organize your kid and give them extra help. If you do not your child will be penalized and given no help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

At Dwight, your child will never receive any grade below B. This is wholesale academic deceit. "Schools" like Dwight ensure meritocracy remains a myth in American society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

Our child just finished his first year at Dwight, and we couldn't be more pleased. The teachers are talented and supportive, and the school has a culture that encourages kids to find their sweet spot and really nurture it. There are rules but there also is this flexibility that comes along with the school's philosophy of paving a way for students to build their individual strengths and pursue their interests. As well, the ability to hear perspectives from students from all over the world is priceless preparation for the increasingly global world we live in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

I love this school but my son LOVES this school. The teachers are excellent and the students are caring and well behaved. The school offers safe and nurturing environment. But yet, the school gives out challenging topics which students must tackle and resolve. They also embrace variety of cultural and ethnical backgrounds by having the children bring to the class and discuss from an early age (pre K). We also were very grateful that they have on-site nurse who care about each child's well being. My son must carry epipen and the nurse knows very very well about my health as well as his teacher. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

I have been very disappointed with the school and the teachers. I do not feel my children are getting an excellent education. I would not recommend Dwight to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Dwight students have unique talents. Whatever a Dwight students talent may be , he or she always manges to be the best at it. From fencing to sailing, to skating, students at Dwight are ranked at the top. This is because the Dwight school encourages us to pursue our talents, and explore any fielor area of interest. the faculty i unlike any other school. They work to help you do your best, and allow you to demonstrate your potential. At dwight we also experience a great variety of cultures, as an IB school. Because of such diversity, we are exposed to many cultures and become aware of other parts of the world. Dwight really prides itself in developing leadership, which I must credit Dwight for being succesful in this field. The Dwight school has organized many leadership trips across the world to help those in need. I enjoy dwight a lot
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2010

I have been at the Dwight School for almost two years now, and I must say I absolutly love it there. The community in Dwight is so strong, and it's especially great to be part of an international one. There are students from almost every country you can think of, just in my grade alone there are students from Britain, Spain, France, Russia, China, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Australia and more. The students are very friendly and caring towards one another and the teachers are more than willing to help anyone who needs it. It is also one of the few schools in the city to offer the IB program, which is by far more rigorous and rewarding than any onther program. Overall, a fantastic school that I would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2009

This school is strictly for the elite. Children who want to go beyond learnings basic subjects, by having a more hands on experience with travels abroad need to look no further and apply today! The Dwight School offers an IB programme which is one of a kind. I strongly reccomend all parents to enroll their children in this school it will hand down be the best disicion you can make for your childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 52%
Asian 8% N/A
Black 5% 21%
Hispanic 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ECIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

291 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024
Phone: (212) 724-6360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trevor Day School
New York, NY



Ps 84 Lilian Weber
New York, NY


Trinity School
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT