Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frederick Douglass Academy

Public | 6-12 | 1549 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Had to pull my daughter out of the middle school per fights, etc. I hear the high school is better...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My daughters 1st year, started off ruff but the teachers Have reached out and are helping her come back
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

The Frederick Douglass Academy, help turn my sons life around to the point where he's now a Senior at the United States Naval Academy No parents that your will succeed at Douglass if you stand with your child and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2012

I have heard great things about this school. My sons will be attending soon and I am looking forward to a successful school year.


Posted November 15, 2010

FDA has been an interesting experience for my daughter during her middle school years. She has been academically challenged, scoring an 83 on the Living Environments Regents exam in Grade 7. She has also been socially challenged in that she has spent a lot of her time just trying to to "fit in", but that's what all MS kids do. The curriculum is strong; the instructors are strong; and the principal is strong. The elephant in the room here is that most of the student's parents don't participate at the level required to make a "good" school "great". Let's face it. ....Kids come to school with the manners they are taught at home. Stronger home-stronger kids-stronger students-stronger school. Once we overcome this obstacle, the sky's the limit!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

I have been a faculty member at FDA for sometime now and I have unique perspective about the school. Like many reviewers, my views of the school have changed since I began working there. However, I have also realized FDA has many unique opportunities that few schools can offer. Many parents and students in the below reviews complain about the uniform policy. I find their complaints hard to sympathize with. Every students is told the policy before coming to the school. If you do not like the policy, there plenty of other schools in NYC. FDA has a uniform policy for a reason and enforcing the policy ensures that our school runs efficiently. In my experience, I have found that enforcing the uniform as a teacher has eliminated nearly every behavioral issue because students realize that if you care about the little things, then big problems vanish.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 30, 2010

I was overjoyed when I found out that my Daughter was accepted to FDA because I had heard great things. That is until she actually attended and on three seperate occasions, my 13yr old child was sent home from the front door because of MINOR uniform issues. Never once did I get a phone call! Unacceptable! when did the uniform become more important than the actual education?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

Im also a freshmen and I agree with some of the comments that were said. Some teachers are disrespectful and some arent. There are some excellent teachers at FDA. The administration is definitly the worst part of FDA. Lunch is not as bed as it may seem. Some classes are organized and there arent alot of 'loose' students. Come on a weekday and get a tour of the school and you will see that not every single thing is bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2010

I am a freshman here. I was so excited when i got accepted having a b+ average. I now have an f average. This school was my worse mistake. The kids are too rowdy, there are fights almost everyday, the teachers don't teach they expect perfection without teaching you. The kids make fun of you if you don't speak slang. The principal has an attitude and a half including most of the staff. Fda cares more about appearance then anything. You have to hunt to find out about the extra circulars. They focus mostly on sports, but less on the arts. The lunch tables are broken and the classes are not organized. I do not recommend this school to anyone. There is a lot of 'loose' girls and guys. The teachers have favorites and tell you to come to after school tutorials if you need help for any little thing. Dontgo!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

Provided the best public school education for my son. Proving that there are excellent public schools in the city of New York. The teaching staff was very beneficial in the achievements my son made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

I agree so much with the other reviews that it brings pain to my heart. I was so excited when my daughter who is a 90 (A-) average student got accepted to FDA. My daughter has worked hard to keep her grades up and has been successful; however I'm terribly disappointed in the leadership via principal, dean, coordinator, and teaching staff. I viewed many negative comments before applying my daughter to FDA, however I may have relied too much on my daughters past achievements to get her through middle school. This summer has been a rough one because all my daughter thinks about is her dreadful return back to a school that she is miserable at. My husband and I feel awful because she has kept up her promise to excel even though FDA has not kept up their part of the promise to suppot and assisti.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

FDA is a great school for academics, college opportunities and world cultural exposure. However, the school leadership needs to focus on students' behaviors, improving student academics that are not up to standard and respecting the students. Respect must be reciprocated. I have witnessed the principal and staff disrespect students. If the principal does it, I guess the staff feel they are entitled to. The same way parents must lead by example, so should the school leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

I agree with the last comment. The Frederick Douglass Academy used to be an exceptionally well school. I've attended this school from sixth grade to my current year now as a senior. I have watch this school go to the dumps. The students and faculty as well are disrespectful. Students are forever wandering the halls or cutting class in the cafeteria. The secrurity guards are young and often befriend the students. Therefore, when somethings occur they may or may not turn their head. It is so true that the school cares more about their uniform then their academic standings. More and more kids are put in detention everyday for being 'unacademy' rather than being put on punishment for poor/missing homework assignments or terrible test grades. It seems to me that the school is more focused on their appearance now that it is doing so horribly. Thats all im aloud to write
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

FDA use to be a good school, now it has become like every other public school in NY. FDA cares more about your uniform than they do your education. The students and faculty alike are very disrespectful even to the parents at times. The school has a very unwelcoming atmosphere. This school has alot of cliques so if your not in one tough luck. The only positive thing left in the school is its education, and not even that is all that good anymore and the fact they let students travel to other countries. Also the school only cares about helping those students that have 85+ averages and more than half the school is failing and they don't even try to help. word of advice Be sure to visit FDA before or while your applying to H.S. Trust me!


Posted January 16, 2008

This school has great college opportunities. The teachers, as well as other staff, are friendly and help to keep the building a safe and orderly place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2007

nice school i love this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2007

This school has shown me that I can become anything that I want to be. My education is also being challanged so that I can learn at my highest level. Also we have have so may opportunities to become advanced.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2007

FDA use to be good. It just recently started and slowly going down. The only good thing about the school right now is the curriculum and thats the only good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

This school is very strict about learning and they don't want you to be on the streets. They focus on mainly academics and the world of academia. Most kids enjoy coming because there is always someone to say hi to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2006

School focuses more on status as oppose to assisting students in an academic crisis. They make it harder for those students to recover by tauting their low status and suggesting GED as a way of getting them out of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
15%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

29 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
45%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students69%
Female73%
Male65%
African American69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant69%

Chemistry

All Students64%
Female66%
Male61%
African American64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant64%

Earth Science

All Students39%
Female38%
Male39%
African American35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant39%

English

All Students79%
Female84%
Male75%
African American79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities38%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%

Geometry

All Students73%
Female79%
Male66%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%

Global History and Geography

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
African American80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%

Integrated Algebra

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
African American76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities47%
General population80%
English language learners54%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%

Living Environment

All Students77%
Female78%
Male76%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial85%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities40%
General population78%
English language learners47%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students48%
Female51%
Male47%
African American49%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities17%
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant48%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level. The school received a grade of "D" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 74% 19%
Hispanic 2 23% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
White 1 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 178%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 12%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 37%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 4%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1253 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents1078%
Students110077%
Teachers4652%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOSEPH D. GATES

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - BX19, BX6, M1, M10, M102, M2, M3, M7
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2581 7th Ave
New York, NY 10039
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 491-4107

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT