Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Stephen of Hungary School

Private | PK-8 | 261 students

St. Stephen School educates the whole child in a warm, nurturing environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $999,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2008

St. Stephen of Hungary has been a great place for my two children. They received individualized care and attention that is unparalleled at most pre-school establishments that I have been in contact with. Class size is small and teachers are warm and caring educators, capable of imparting knowledge while maintaining and teaching discipline with a gentle touch. I truly appreciate the experience and the feeling that everyone at school, from the receptionist, through our kids' teachers, all the way to the principal, knows our children and is being involved with proper care for them. We feel that such an individualized approach makes a difference at any age, and especially during the early childhood. We truly appreciate and highly recommend St. Stephen of Hungary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

I love my school. It is fun and i still learn. This month we went to an opera and on friday we are having cocoa and cookies. Our concert was awesome, we are number one!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2007

Great School! Attention to detail is most appreciated by the parents. Curriculum and teachers are paired together well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

St. Stephen of Hungary School is a small school of big achievers. The principal knows each student by name and greets both parents and students each morning and at dismissal.There are field trips that connect to what children are learning at each grade. In addition there are citizenship days and subject fairs to make learning fun. Last year the school won the rising star award for excellence from manhattan media. As a single mom it is helpful that my child like to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

Nice school. Small classes & a devoted principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

My son just started kindergarten this year. He loves his school. Music classes are available for an additional cost. The principal and secretary know all the children by names. Although some parents complain that their is not a lot of parent involvement I feel that their is. I know a lot of parents from grades other than K. The tuition is affordable and the teachers I have met (All) are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

Great school with passionate teachers and a principal who cares about the children as individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

I attended St. Stephen of Hungary from 1997 til I graduated in 2000. They were the best years of my life because of this school! The teachers were the best. They treated us as though we were their own children and they looked out for us as best as they knew. What I found in this school was the love for the Catholic chuch which I found no where else as much as at St.Stephen's. I'm not sure if they still do them but when I went to school, St.Stephens used to hold after school activities where we'd learn different crafts such as needle work and art. They also have a great connection with families and parents are involved in what goes on inside the school. My favorite activity was the Spring Concert which was held every year. I highly recommend St.Stephen's
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

My son has attended Saint Stephens since 5th grade. In the beginning of the school years there were disciplinary problems that arose in the classroom. Students were out of control and disrupting classroom instruction. We the parents requested a meeting w/ the principal and teacher to try to alleviate the disruptions during lesson time. Saint Stephen is a small knit school. The majority of the parents are down to earth and very helpful. The first couple of months my son was at Saint Stephen we felt we belonged. Its a good feeling to experience. My son graduates this year,'The class 2004'. I'm certainly going to miss the pampering that we always received from the teachers and the administration. My sons experience at Saint Stephen has been a positive experience. What I like most as a working parent is that the teachers communicate w/ parents through the internet. Have a question, regaurding school work ect. e-mail the teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 52%
Black 25% 21%
Hispanic 25% 21%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French, Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Katherine Peck
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French, Spanish
  • Gardening
  • Photography
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

408 E 82nd St
New York, NY 10028
Phone: (212) 288-1989

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Caedmon School
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT