Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Xavier High School

Private | 9-12 | 1022 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $925,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

73 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2007

I have taught at many elite high schools in NYC: Loyola, Stuyvesant, Queens High School of Science and Xavier. While all of these schools are excellent only Xavier met my definition of an elite academic institution. The school has 150 years of traditions and history - and it clearly shows. Xavier's standards are clearly defined, exacting and comprehensive. The schools athletics and activities - including its vaunted JROTC program - are outstanding. The school's morale and esprit de corps are second to none. The student body is composed of little gentlemen (not boys) with a code of conduct and chivalry that is rarely seen today. When my two sons reach high school age, I will only consider Xavier for their education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2007

Xavier High School is the 'toughest school you'll ever love.' The work load is demanding but intellectually challenging, the faculty is dedicated and first rate, and the facilities are excellent. The only downside is the new all-natural cafeteria menu -- it leaves much to be desired.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2007

After Regis, Xavier is by far the best Catholic high school in New York City. The school instills students with honor, discipline, academic rigor, intellectual curiosity, morals and ethics. It is an elite institution in a sea of mediocrity. I highly recommend it over many specialized high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Xavier High School is the best Catholic school in New York. The numbers do not lie and their alumni list is like a who's who list of greatness.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2007

While the academic program is great, the administration is substandard. They are not at all supportive and I would highly suggest looking for another high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2006

I am currently a sophmore at Xavier, and i doubt that i could possibly be as happy anywhere else. With the help of Xavier, I have met other students from all over the five boroughs and have made many good friends. From the first day of classes, my teachers have been telling me and my friends that which is required to exceed at Xavier; doing your homework. I find that as long as i apply myself and work hard, it is easy to pass here. I would not pass up my Xavier experiencefor anything in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2006

Xavier has been an amazing experience. There is always something to undertake while studying at this institution. If a student goes into this school with an open mind, they will leave well-rounded and ready to tackle any college curriculum and challenge the world throws at them. Classes are rigorous and the inclusion of after-school activities put pressure on the academics. The pressure, however is a good pressure. Only when a student is fully involved in the school will they excell academically.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2006

Highly competitive admission numbers. 1400 students apply for only 250 freshman seats each year. 40-50 of those accepted freshmen will not make it to graduation day. 99.5% of graduates go on to four year colleges and universities. Half of that Xavier graduating class,(about 100 students),will continue their education at a Jesuit,Ivy League or military academy. Student to teacher ratio is 14:1. There are 15 sports and over 50 organizations. 1/3 of the students remain in Xavier's renowned military program and their alumni provide an impressive array of prestigious titles which compensate Xavier's tuition costs to current students. Alumni include, by title, a US Supreme Court Justice, the US Ambassador to the Philippines,the president of the United States Postal service,The president of Annheiser Busch, an NBC News personality,a local FOX News journalist, a New York Times writer, and a boat load of doctors.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2006

All catholic school is not good in academic but good in learning evironment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2006

Xavier hs is by far the best school in the tri state area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 18, 2006

I am a gradaute of the school. Not a day goes by that Xavier is not present in my life. The teachers are amazing and always there before and after school. As for extracurricular activities, I was involved in over 10 thoughout my high school career. There is something for everyone. Lastly, the parents are highly visible in the school and in the lives of the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2005

Xavier High School is one of the top two Catholic high schools for boys in the tri-state area. I don't think that comes as a surprise to anyone in the know. No school offers more on the part of extracurricular activities, discipline and history than Xavier. What further distinguishes Xavier from other schools is the dedication and adoration from their well-established alumni. You will not come across any alumni that contributes, promotes or bleeds more for a school than 'Sons of Xavier.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2005

Generally an excellent school with a mid to high intellect level faculty. Administration was excellent under jesuit stewardship but has lapsed slightly in the past year. Extracarricular activities are extensive and parent involvment is generally good.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 28, 2005

Never have I seen a better instance of a jesuit education in the modern world. The students at Xavier are some of the best I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

Xavier has been one of the finest academic institutions for over 150 years. If there was ever an example of how to incorporate the full experience of mind, body, and soul,then Xavier meets the criteria. It is one of the most prestigious high schools in the country.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 5, 2005

As an educator myself, I am so appreciative and grateful for the education my two boys received at Xavier. It is truly a top notch school. In regards to the Brooklyn Tech comparison, I would have to say that contrary to the posted belief, Xavier is the much better school. They send a higher percentage to four year colleges, they have a better student/teacher ratio, more activities and programs, and certainly a safer and more structured learning environment. I would know this because I graduated from Brooklyn Tech in '74.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

There is nothing like a Xavier education. Not only is a Xavier education better than just about every competing Catholic high school education BY MILES, it is probably also better than the vast majority of college educational opportunities as well. It is one of the best schools in the tri-state area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 28, 2005

this is a good school. I feel that children get the necessary support they need to succeed. But I would still say that Brooklyn Tech is a much better school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2005

Xavier is an outstanding high school. I would match them against any elite high school. They are definitely the best investment for the dollar. Academically they send over 200 students to top four year colleges and universities each year, an over 99% graduation rate. They also offer more AP courses and additional courses, including militay scince for ROTC students, than any other Catholic high school. They offer over fifteen sports and over fifty organizations. Their music program awarded them the 'Best High School Band' during the St. Patrick's Day review within the past few years. Most importantly, Xavier is 1K cheaper than rival Fordham Prep and 13K cheaper than Loyola, yet Xavier offers so much more than both of them, including Regis when it comes to opportunities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2005

How great is Xavier? Here are just a fraction of graduates making an impact across America: The president of Anheiser Busch, the president of the United States Postal Service, the president of NBC Networks, the US Supreme Court Justice who appointed our US president ( Antonin Scalia.)How about NBC's Al Roker, FOX News Mike Sheehan, and the US Ambassador to the Philippines, Alberto Del Rosario? This school has an endless list of leaders who haved shaped our country. Students who graduate from Xavier have a tremendous capacity for knowledge,discipline, faith, and service. Xavier exemplifies the best of the best. This school is not for the faint of heart. Only the cream of the crop need apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 52%
Hispanic 16% 21%
Asian 6% N/A
Black 4% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Livigni
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30 West 16th Street
New York, NY 10011
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 924-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT