Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Lourdes School

Private | PK-8 | 322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $198,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

I highly recommend this school for Pre-K. The teachers are unbelievable and the nurturing of the children is great. However, once you get to Kindergarten it drastically goes downhill. My child was so scared of her teacher that she would tremble and cry when even asking for a pencil. I pulled her out at the beginning of the year and moved her to a nearby public school. It was the best decision I ever made. Parents are discouraged from being involved at all and I have actually heard them degrade students in front of the whole class. I do not recommend this school for K-8 but highly recommend for your Pre-K children. It is really too bad, because this could be such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

This school is a welcome gem in an area with very little to offer in terms of quality education. It feels like a community and our 3 year old feels really welcome. The building is pristine and filled with the children's work. Classrooms are sunny and big with smartboards for every classroom. Teachers and aides are loving and attentive. What would make it truly excellent would be more parent involvement, more activities such as chess, dance, Spanish, swimming... These could be easily developed by parents and using outside community resources but there's not a PTA to work on fundraising. The afterschool program needs development so the children are learning more proactively during that time. Nevertheless we feel happy and safe at the school and thank our lucky stars to have found this in Harlem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

I am a parent of a student currently in her second year at the school in pre-K4. So far I am very happy with the school on many levels. I like the small and intimate feel of the school. The school staff know the students by name and the parents as well. The teachers that she has had thus far actually care about her progress. They inform me of her accomplishments and offer solutions for improvement. My child was reading full sentences by age 2 and I was concerned that she would not be stimulated in the classroom. However, the teachers have worked to keep her engaged in her strong areas while also teaching her new skills and material. She is also learning Italian due to their language program. She seems to be happy in school and has made a lot of friends. When I had financial problems last year the staff helped me obtain a scholarship. I am also very impressed with the music and art programs as well. The school's musical presentations are very impressive. I hope that my positive experience as a parent will continue from Kindergarten and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

I felt very blessed to have found this school for my child. I hoped that the school would give her the balance between education and faith that think is missing from so many these days. However, I am not so sure how well the school embodies, much less teaches, these faith-based aspects. In addition, this school passively discourages parental involvement more than just so much. The school for the most part is good and I love the staff. The administration is about the business of running a school so keep that in mind when things done and said don't quite make sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

I grew up in this community an truth be told the options for a good elementary school are scarce. We transferred our son to this school from a public school and found that OLL still has strong academic standards as it did when I attended the school as a child. The administration is strong and focused on setting high standards for its staff as well as working hard to ensure the financial stability of the school. I find that even though both of my children stand out academically, there are other aspects of a school that should be taken into consideration when applying. Teaching staff appears to have a very antiquated discipline philosophy which includes scolding (and embarrassing)children in front of their peers. There is no direct connection with parents, nor PTA, school has more of a closed door policy in which you drop off your child at the front door and pick up at the front door giving very little opportunity to establish a home-school connection. For Hamilton Heights, clearly, OLL is one of the better options, my suggestion as a parent is to visit other catholic schools in Manhattan and compare. Make the decision based on what fits your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

This school has been a blessing, and we are fortunate to have it in our neighborhood. I can not stop praising OLL for their dedication to the education and success of every child that attends. My daughter has blossomed immensely since being at OLL, and we see our money's worth everyday. The teachers are what make this school standout as they are dedicated to their students, and are amazing educators. The principal is great and is truly engaged with her staff and ensuring all is up to par. I highly recommend!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

The worst school in New York State. If you love your children, send them to a public school , the public school are better and safer; at least they have police waching your kids while you are at work.Do not waste your money in this school .save in the bank you will remember my advice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

OLL is a great I could not be more greatful to this school that educated me my daughter and now my son who is in 8th grade. He has been accepted to the top schools in NYC such as Loyola School, Xavier High School and 3 others. The standard and principles are high the children become scholars without knowing. The teachers are great and dedicated. The principal is great and the vice principal as well. It was a wonderful choice when my parents sent me and I know I made the right choice for my children as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

Our Lady of Lourdes is an excellent school! The facilities are well-kept, the teachers and staff are very friendly and students are well exposed to programs across the arts in addition to their regular curriculum.


Posted March 4, 2011

We looked at many Manhattan preschools before we found OLL. As soon as our unscheduled tour began we knew we were in the right place. The tour got better as it continued, ending up in the pre-K class where the teachers were wonderful and the class engaged and happy! All the promises we were made have come true. This is a great school with great programs, a great administration, good values, breakfast, lunch and terrific aftercare! And it's reasonably priced, esp. compared to those other schools. We were also accpted to another highly regarded public school but we have never regretted our decision to send our child to Our Lady of Lourdes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

We too are new to Our Lady Of Lourdes school and can't say enough good things about our experience! Our daughter LOVES going to school each day. Our family has found acceptance, warmth and a great educational environment. The principal and staff are incredible. The curriculum matches some of the best around. The kids are provided structure without loosing their spirit. Tell everyone you know to check this school out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

Our Lady of Lourdes School is one of a kind--a truly fine academic institution in the center of a historic and iconic New York City neighborhood. Principal Hufnagel has led tremendous movements towards academic excellence since taking the role of Principal in 2005. My husband and I are more than happy and willing to make the tremendous sacrifices we do to send our kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

OLL has revitalized my family! We recently moved to area after a trying few years on the West Coast and were searching for a welcoming, nurturing school to serve as a place of stability and tranquility for my kids. OLL is definitely that! My children love school now; a new confidence and appreciation for life has overcome them since entering OLL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

OLL is fantastic! After searching and searching for the right school for my children, our prayers were finally answered! From the donor involvement anf fantastic extracurricular activities to the rigorous academics and amazing art/music/language programs, OLL has everything a child needs to excel! It is worth the investment without a doubt. Plus, the administration is so helpful and ALWAYS willing to talk the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers in this school are so dedicated. With limited resources they have establish to build a Science Lab, Smart boards and teach the Arts as well. The academic performance for some of these children is outstanding. The Principal has manage to raise funds and fix the school little by little.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This school is a little gem. My two daughters have attended OLL school for the past 10 years and it has never been better. My daughter's test scores have steadily increased due to a lot of individualized attention from teachers. The school is well run, safe and has high NYS test scores. My eldest daughter is in 8th grade, which had 100% pass the NYS science test last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

The worst school in the heights the administration was excellent but now that a new principle the administration changed to worst i think a public school is better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

I currently attend Our Lady of Lourdes. The teachers are warm and loving and create a wonderful learning enviorment. I love the small close knit community. I gradute this year and will miss having all the love and care that is shown on a day-to-day basis.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2009

Our Lady of Lourdes is one of the best schools in Hamilton Heights. My children attend the school. My daughter is currently in the 8th grade has passed sucessfully the TACHS exam. She has been accepted to 2 of her choices. Her fellow classmates have also done extremely well. The students the vase majority have been accepted to all 3 choices. My son is currently in the 5th grade and is exceptionally doing well as well as a parent I would strongly recommend this hidden treasure in the Heights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

As a new parent to the Our Lady of Lourdes community I know I have found the right school for my daughter. From the first day my child arrived we were met by a friendly staff and faculty. Everyone knew the chindren's names and the main hall was filled with happy smiles. I was confident my daughter would be safe and flourish in this environment. After meeting with the Principal and my child's teacher I felt assured that this would be a wonderful experience for her. The curriculum is challenging and there is a vast variety of exra curricular activites. My child is anxious to join the school Choir and loves art class. She is happy, safe and learning; what more can a parent ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 52%
Hispanic 4% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45
School end time
  • 2:45
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Cathy Hufnagel
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Come see our community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

468 West 143rd Street
New York, NY 10031
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 926-5820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 325
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT