Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Corpus Christi School

Private | PK-8 | 194 students

Corpus Christi School is and has been a community cornerstone for over 100 years
 
 

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $535,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

My daughter attended this school for two years and graduated from eighth grade, She loved it here and so did I. Faculty made us feel very welcome and like family. The school is very up to date with Technology with smart Boards in every classroom! I noted that the pre K is very diverse which is really nice. The school is small and intimate, my daughter came home with smiles on her face from the friends she made and tears when she had to graduate. She was challenged, A lot of reading in the last two years and good classic books too. She even learned Italian. We will miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I graduated in June 2013 and the teachers skills were impeccable. My ELA and Reading teacher made it easy to understand. My Math teacher never pressured me but allowed me to take my time learning. I actually liked it there.


Posted May 9, 2011

This is my son's first year in the school and he loves it. The kids are friendly and well mannered. The Principal, Teachers and Staff are wonderful. Classrooms have smart boards. The curriculum is the same as the State Standard curriculum. The only downside is the lack of space for outdoor recess. Other then that I highly recommend this school to anyone who has a child going to Middle school. This school is a hidden gem on the upper west side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

Corpus Christi is a great school that I am glad that I found. The school has good teachers who care about the students. Teachers who my son hasn't even had for class yet know his name and talk to him to see how he is doing. The classrooms have smart-boards in them, helping to introduce the students to technology early. My son has been provided with challenging coursework and the support needed to help him grow academically, personally and spiritually. Overall a great school and I am happy to have my son enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

Although it's only been my first AND last year, Corpus Christi has definitely prepared me for high school. The values and principles learned here are everlasting, the academics and teachers are remarkable, and the experiences and friendships created at Corpus Christi School are simply unforgettable. A small community with wonderful staff, who can pass up the opportunity? Of my previous 2 schools, no single aspect can compare to that of Corpus Christi ! -N.C.


Posted February 18, 2005

Corpus Christi is a very special place. Everyone knows each other and all the teachers are encouraging and helpful. The academics are significantly challenging and all the students are friendly. The principal not only knows the name of each student, but who they are and what they are like. Corpus Christi is an extremely nurturing environment. It fits the needs of each individual and makes everyone feel like they are at home. The Corpus Christi community is very close, and values along with academics are taught as well.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 21%
Black 26% 21%
Two or more races 11% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Italian
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Drum line
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Christian Mariano
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Collaborative Group Work
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Drum line
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Register to visit Corpus Christi School on TOURING TUESDAY, November 18, 2014, from 9-11am. TOURING TUESDAYS are universal open houses scheduled periodically throughout the school year at Catholic elementary schools across the Archdiocese of New York. Reservations for Touring Tuesdays are required. To reserve your space at Corpus Christi School, please call our 24 hour bilingual line, (646)794-2885.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cardinal Hayes High School
Cathedral High School
La Salle Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

535 West 121st Street
New York, NY 10027
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 662-9344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 125 Ralph Bunche
New York, NY


Ps 180 Hugo Newman
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT