Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cristo Rey New York High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $505,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

There needs to be a much better system. Not organized and very displeased with the way the school is going.


Posted September 25, 2013

It's a cheap school but for a reason. They just don't have the tools needed to send the student to top colleges. If you want the students to go to community colleges than this school is for you...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2013

The school is to far. It moved and has made it harder to get there on time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2013

My school is amazing not only because of the support I get from my teachers but from my classmates as well. My teachers prepare me for college and the overall experience since being in Cristo Rey is amazing especiallybeing a transfer student all the sudents were very welcoming and added me to thier Cristo Rey Lion. I wish I knew more middle schoolers so I can tell them to come here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2012

Former teacher/staff member. Great staff leadership allows for lucid, organized teaching. The incorporation of this rigorous college prep education and work study program facilitates the characteristics for success in college and life. The progress of the sports, music, drama and technology department have deepened the studen'ts participation in positive activities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2012

CRNYS is a college preparatory school that provides the requisite tools needed for thriving in college. The teachers are marvelous and approachable men and women who are capable in explicating their subjects clearly. Not only do they teach the class, but they also give students insight on how to proceed in life using the tools provided in class. They open their eyes to the world around them and inform them of certain issues circulating the web and ultimately connecting it to their studies. They are truly dedicated in serving the community and demand that each and every student take the initiative in doing their work and striving to learn more. Getting accustom to CRNYHS takes time, especially when it comes to work. Although working may be boring, it ultimately separates you from the norm by adding something new to your college resume. Depending on where a student works, the job site may offer that student a summer job where he or she works from 9 P.M -5 A.M ( Depends on over all performance throughout the year). Certain students do receive the opportunity in going to NY Yankee games or to basketball games in Madison Square Garden. It is up to the student to make the most of CRNYHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2011

This school is a wonderful school. I have learned a lot from the four years I have attended. I would strongly recommend this school to any student entering high school. The corporate work aspect, atmosphere, and family-feel are some of the various factors that allow for Cristo Rey New York High School to come up on top. The faculty make sure that their children understand before moving on. They care about each and every student attending. I had an amazing time at this school and I am sure you (as a student) or your child (as a parent) will as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2010

i already attend this schhool and i dont like it. its ridiculous and thats y im transferring for or b4 tenth grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2007

The school helps students prepare for collage and job experience. As you experince more an more in the 4 years, youre resumate gets better and better
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2007

Compared to any of the schools that my children have ever attended Cristo Rey New York ranks extremely high. It really can't be compared to other schools simply because it is in a class by itself. To do so would disregard the mission of this schools very existence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

This school is amazing. It is catholic and very cheap.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 77% 21%
Black 19% 21%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • William P. Ford
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 East 106th Street
New York, NY 10029
Phone: (212) 996-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Friends Seminary
New York, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT