Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Battery Park City School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
as far as I see, students are fairly treated and are taught to respect other students - even those showing possible defects.

Battery Park City School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
I remember how my son was called in to help another newly joined kid from another class because he barely can speak English. Teacher from another class wants to know how he felt on his first day and is there anything they can do. I did appreciate the caring and helps and I am happy my son can help there.


Battery Park City School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
like all New York Schools Battery Park City school is filled with kids from varying background and they are all well treated. And teachers do try to establish importance of honesty, integrity of fairness.

Battery Park City School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
I feel lucky that the school has good teachers as they are the first several role models young kids will learn from in their life. A good and carrying teacher means a lot and I am happy that my son loves his teachers and he loves going to school.

Battery Park City School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Teachers constantly sends update in the form of emails and talk to parents about their kids' status.


Battery Park City School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
homework is not enough and too easy especially when it comes to math. Reading is okay though science & math should see more focus.

Battery Park City School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
teachers constantly encourage students to take on more advanced materials though I wish it can be more frequent and more challanging

Battery Park City School 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are great and my son loves his school and teachers. The administrators and after school staff are nice and too. It also has the added advantage that afterschool program is offered in the same building so making it easier for parents. Classes are equipped with teachers who are devoted to their work and constantly trying to improve. I remember seeing kids in tears to say bye to their teachers when they have to go to next grade. The only two possible down sides IMHO (but not really specific to Battery Park City School) is: a) course contents are still too basic probably school should try to upgrade the course material to increase the competitiveness, especially when the ranking does not seem to hold stable year from year; b) when my son was in his first and second grades he sometimes reported he got bullied by older graders which I think probably worth more attention.


Battery Park City School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Teacher, administrators, and the entire staff are amazing. My child transferred here from another public school. This school goes above and beyond to ensure each child is receiving a positive experience. My child has totally improved in reading, writing, and mathematics because of their strong teachers and curriculum. When the time comes, I am praying my child will attend the middle school as I know some parents who send their children there and are extremely happy. I am beyond thrilled with our experience at PS/IS 276.

Battery Park City School 5

Posted July 09, 2014
- a parent
BEST SCHOOL EVER!!! My oldest son studied since the first year that the school was opened at IS 276 .I'm moving to Battery Park in order that my two other kids will study there next year. What a wonderful experience!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Battery Park City School
55 Battery Pl, New York, NY  10011
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (212) 266-5800
Last modified Battery Park City School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top