Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Quest To Learn 3

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
My child is in the 6th grade. He really likes the school. Me, not so much. There's only one teacher that communicates with me, the others rarely respond to emails even if it's fairly important. I feel the teachers are quick to blame the student instead of considering that they may have been mistaken by giving a certain grade. IEP is loosely followed. We are not sure if he's being challenged academically. We chose this school because we wanted our son to not hate school, and we've accomplished this, but it is not organized well. Perhaps a change in leadership will help. Bathrooms are filthy, even the boys complain, so that really says something!

Quest To Learn 1

Posted December 05, 2015
- a parent
Principal is nasty, school is dirty, difficult for me as a parent to get academics updates. My child attending for third year and school getting worse and worse.


Quest To Learn 2

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
While I admire this schools mission, in practice, it just doesn't work to serve my child. Especially if you have a child with an IEP or one needing any kind of additional support, do not attend this school. The naming of the classes are confusing and difficult to follow and track as a parent. The focus on technology obfuscates the issues with parent/teacher communication. The online tools for tracking assignments and grades, Canvas, is not real time so while it promises insight into performance, the delay renders it meaningless. The facility is crowded with other schools and feels with the exception of the 7th floor like a penitentiary. I do think the teachers are good and mostly enthusiastic but I question the administrative leadership and frankly I regret choosing this school for my child. It's a good idea poorly executed with limited funding (and yes, just another testament to why we need to put more money as a society into our public education).

Quest To Learn 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
I felt compelled to write after reading a few comments about Quest. My child goes to Quest & he has an IEP, they have been very responsive to needs. We are in constant contact with the teachers, they respond to emails & help to solve challenges my kid is having. Sixth grade was better than any other year my child had (this child came from one of the top schools) My child has decided to stay at Quest through HS. Every kid has a different experience, in different situations. Sad when a parent writes that a whole school has horrible quality, sounds like an angry or disappointed parent. The good thing, they found a school that is a good fit, which is ultimately how we achieve, grow & become successful. Congrats. It's great for a child & parent to find that right school. However, getting high grades at one school & not another doesn't say much about either school. Maybe one school is too rigorous & the other school is more in line with that child's level of learning? (or learning styles) If a parent wants to express their opinions on a website, especially the negative, they should state specifics & not a general comments, which doesn't help anyone.

Quest To Learn 1

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
I took my son out and now he gets 90s and 100s and is actually learning.the quality of the school is horrible they need new leadership the only good thing is that the children for the most part are safe. If your child struggles with anything they isn't much help and they do not follow iep at all.


Quest To Learn 4

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
There is much diversity in the school and respect for others. Most of the work in school is based on projects where students work in groups, but have individual tasks that are important elements they are responsible to contribute. Teachers/staff notify parents if a student should require extra study time at the school. There is an online canvas board for parents to sign on to and monitor their child's progress and completed homework.

Quest To Learn 2

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
After one year, we pulled our child from this school. It was a hard fight to get the DOE to grant the transfer to another school but it was worth it. Quest to Learn is new and has yet to find its footing. While involved at the school, we were impressed with the teachers. Lots of parent were very happy with the curriculum but I felt it was again too "new" and not completely thought out. There was too much disorganization. IEP Services were not in place. After-school was unreliable. Even Parent-Teacher nights were chaotic. No one takes responsibility. We felt we were gambling with our child's education.

Quest To Learn 1

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
Lack of leaderhip and responsiveness to school issues. Poor communication between parents and administration. School does not encourage parent involvment. However, teachers seem to care about their students and seem dedicated to make every effort to help them succeed.


Quest To Learn 5

Posted November 26, 2011
- a parent
I am the parent of a 6th grader who is very happy at Q2L Quest To Learn (Q2L) is an innovative New York City public middle/high school where students learn to view the world though its underlying, interdependent systems physical, biological, environmental, political, technological, social, economic, etc. Q2L students learn that the knowledge systems of math, science, language, geography, history, etc. can empower them to decode the patterns, structure, and dynamics of our world s complex systems so they can be analyzed, understood, influenced, and even designed. At Q2L, learning is rigorous, participatory, and Regent standards-based. Students are given missions organized around big ideas and complex, multidisciplinary problems, which in order to solve, students must collaborate, think holistically, gather relevant information, calculate, theorize, hypothesize, and experiment, read and analyze texts, design models, simulations, codes, games and tools, and continuously provide feedback for review and revision of their work, etc. Students take on the identities of mathematicians, scientists, writers, historians, and designers as they connect ideas, information, and experiences.

Quest To Learn
no rating

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
Quest IS the school of the the future. It incorporates technology and game design in all of it curriculum which make the children eager to learn. The way my child is learning makes me want to go back to school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Quest To Learn
351 West 18th Street, New York, NY  10011
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (212) 488-3645
Last modified Quest To Learn is a Public school that serves grades 6-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top