Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East Side Community School 3

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
My son was in this school through 6-8th grade and we had an AMZING time, until about 8th grade. The math teacher is VERY tough, more than once she threatened my son when he didn't know the answers. Multiple parents have complained about her throwing pens at the students. The counselor is a nightmare she convinced me to send my child to a horrible school where he gets bullied. The principle is amazing and so supportive. I would have loved to keep my child in this school but the Math teacher for 8th grade needs to be REMOVED ! And lose her license

East Side Community School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
I have two children in this school one in middle school one in high school and I love it...it is one of the best school on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. the teachers are great the administration is wonderful and the principal is so dedicated, wouldn't have my kids anywhere else


East Side Community School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
One of the best schools in New york. Principal is excellent,,,and teachers are very dedicated.

East Side Community School 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
I would like to say that I love the school my son attends and I love the communication that I have with the teachers and the prinicapl and I like the staff and they always have the best attitude with the parents and they help with the children and help the family with anything we need help with.

East Side Community School 5

Posted August 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


East Side Community School 5

Posted May 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

East Side Community School 5

Posted November 13, 2005
- a teacher
Teachers here are very committed. Many come from Ivy League schools and routinely go beyond the call of duty in their teaching and reaching out to kids. Instruction is excellent and creative. Students are known well by their teachers and don't fall through the cracks. Excellent arts program. Jill Herman, former principal, put this school on the map. Very diverse. Great atmosphere. I wish I taught here.

East Side Community School 3

Posted May 05, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Side Community School
420 East 12th Street, New York, NY  10009
(212) 460-8467
Last modified East Side Community School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East Side Community School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top