Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 3

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
This school is very convenient for me and it shows good conduct and behavior throughout most of the school body. This school has very committed and welcoming staff members. I met the principal and I love her no-nonsense attitude. But I feel that these kids are not getting the education they deserve. They pick fights with each other, tease, and steal. Many students hate the teachers, and they become very violent and tear things off the wall. This school has its ups and downs, and I feel that it can improve greatly to its full potential.

Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 5

Posted May 21, 2010
- a teacher
PS30 has come a long way from being a SURR (School in Need of Improvement) school to an "A" school as a result of the strong leadership of the principal and the dedication of the staff. It has a strong, standard-based curriculum that successfully paves way to raising student achievement. It promotes nurturing and yet challenging environment. Here are some reasons why PS30 is a great school: * PS30 is open to "ALL" students. * It offers four Arts Programs, such as Dance, Fine Arts, Music, and Drama. What a good way for students to channel their creativity. * Students participate in Community Outreach


Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 0
no rating

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
This school has made great improvement from being a SURR school to an 'A' school.

Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 4

Posted May 21, 2010
- a teacher
PS30 is an excellent school with highly qualified and committed staff members. The teachers and staff are uniquely eager to assist ALL students in achieving their educational and personal goals, With the expertise of a successful Principal, our school has grown to receive grades A,B,A for the past three years. The best is yet to come!

Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a student
The parent who mentioned the shooting on May 8th 2006, With her son in the 6th grade; i actually was in the 6th grade when this happened aswell. It was very scary and i remember very clearly that they called almost every parent that they could. I loved this elementry school; they helped me get into the Frederick Douglass Acdemy, i am now a freshman. I, being someone who actually thanks this school for everything they done for me. All the students had a very close relationship with their students.


Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 5

Posted February 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2008
- a community member
This school has problems. There are about three different schools in the building and the principle in charge of the building refuses to take responibility for any negative that happens. The PA and the administration are always looking for ways to undermine each the other.

Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 0
no rating

Posted April 02, 2008
- a teacher
I teach at this school and it is a mess. They did away with having one teacher per class. the poor kids have a different teacher for every subject. The teachers don't spend enough time with the students to get to know them. It's tough for the teachers too, as we must run up and down the halls and stairs, carrying all our materials with us for every different class. There is never enough time to set up a lesson properly. I've been here a long time and as soon as I get another job - I'm out!


Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 2

Posted June 19, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes 3

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
My son attends this school and he and his class mates is in the 6th grade. He witnessed a shooting right outside the school while he was in the school playground 2 months ago. The school did not notify the parents with neither letter nor phone call and this is by far the most traumatic experience a child can endure.Parents & teachers meetings should also take place more often. The teachers are excellent and so are the staff. The principal is great but the school shouldnt have to hide what goes on in the community. Safety awareness a must.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes
144 East 128th Street, New York, NY  10035
(212) 876-1825
Last modified Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 30 Hernandez Hughes Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top