Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


P.S. 51 Elias Howe
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 26, 2016
- a parent
Nancy Sing-Bock is a fantastic principal. You can tell she is respected by the teachers, brings in excellent programs and partnerships, knows the kids and is totally dedicated.

P.S. 51 Elias Howe 5

Posted June 26, 2016
- a parent
PS 51 is the crown jewel of Hell's Kitchen. A beautiful building, a worldly student body, brilliant & loving teachers, a terrific principal. The art and music programs are truly spectacular. My daughter's first two years there (K & 1) have been wonderful and I am so happy this is our neighborhood school. Just seeing the way the kids embrace each other in the playgrounds tells you what a special place it is. I wish they had more money for PE and language programs, but with a super-active PTA, that could still happen. The academic programs are uniquely designed to meet each student's needs. I can't say enough good things about PS 51.


P.S. 51 Elias Howe 5

Posted June 26, 2016
- a parent
P.S.51 is a unique small school in the heart of Manhattan, characterized by its diversity, motivated by the ideal of a holistic education that integrates the arts into the process of learning, allowing the students to excel academically as well as creatively and emotionally. This focus on arts education would not be possible without the strong commitment and leadership of Principal Nancy Sing-Bock. P.S.51 was recognized by the Department of Education as having a stellar arts education program. P.S.51 was also named an Outstanding School by The Blackboard Awards, achievements that show how much we are all committed to the success of each student at our school. My oldest daughter has already graduated from PS51 and my youngest daughter will be attending 4th grade in September. This is by far the best primary public school in our neighborhood. Lorena Camacho, Emilia Urcola (11) and Camila Urcola (9).

P.S. 51 Elias Howe
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
We are very grateful to both of our children's teachers. they have helped them grow academically and as individuals. They have nurtured curiosity, friendships among the children and great trust from us as parents. Well done.

P.S. 51 Elias Howe
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
We have been very impressed with the teaching staff at PS 51. Every teacher our children have had has been caring, engaged and highly competent.


P.S. 51 Elias Howe
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
Like every school in NYC i'm surprised by the amount of homework kids get here. It's developmental and age appropriate but more than our kids received outside of NYC.

P.S. 51 Elias Howe
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
My sons kindergarten teacher is kind, compassionate and fun... AND... she instills great determination, self-discipline and strength into the kids. We love her and our sone does too.

P.S. 51 Elias Howe
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
This is a wonderfully diverse school that honors and celebrates the cultural backgrounds of all its kids.


P.S. 51 Elias Howe 5

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
We moved to Midtown Manhattan from Madison Wisconsin where we had a fantastic experience with our neighborhood school. Needless to say we were nervous about NY Public Schools... but we LOVE Elias Howe! We have two children there this year and will send our third next fall. It's a brand new facility with large classrooms full of natural light, a great playground, stage and gym. Classroom sizes are around 18 for each of our children so they get lots of time with teachers and behavioral issue that might eat up instruction time are low. The school has a seasoned and very hands on principal and an involved PTA. Our kids love their teachers and we have been impressed with their skill and care for our kids. Our children are developing great math, science and reading skills, PLUS the arts and music programs are incredible (maybe the best in the city). Every child gets free tap lessons through Rosie O'Donnell's dance studio around the corner. We are so grateful to live in the neighborhood and have such a great facility and faculty right next door. Put your fears and questions to rest. Sending your children to PS 51 is a wonderful, affordable and convenient educational gift to give your children.

P.S. 51 Elias Howe 3

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
The school is a wonderful place for children to enjoy the music and arts first hand. My grandson is 7 and came to live with me after being in foster care for 2 years and has insecurities and issues from his past. He started at this school and it has been a positive experience to say the least. The staff is very involved with education and safety. His teacher Miss Goldberg is wonderful in every way. She has patience with energetic second graders that can be challenging at times. She gives each child the attention needed and has a way to keep everything in order.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

P.S. 51 Elias Howe
525 West 44th Street, New York, NY  10036
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (212) 315-7160
Last modified P.S. 51 Elias Howe is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top