Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-8
Public
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 383
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 4

Posted February 28, 2014
- a community member
The Principal, Barbara Darrigo, has brought light and hope to this school. PS/MS 149 had many changes of leadership before Ms. Darrigo came to the school in 2011. She changed the culture and tone of the school to a much more positive one. Ms. Darrigo has brought in programs that enhance the learning environment. Harlem Lacrosse and Leadership is changing the lives of the middle school students. There is a jazz institute and a tap dance program. The school was also a recipient of the Shubert Theater Foundation Grant in 2011. Strong Women/ Strong Girls chose PS 149 as their pilot school in NYC. The school went from an 'F' to a 'B' this year on the school report card. There is a family feeling within this school and the administration appears to be very supportive of the staff.

Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 1

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
Ps 149 sojourner truth on 117 St and Lennox. This is one of the melting pot schools without hope. Some of the staff is rude,confused and depressed. Kids are walking Around the school and not in class. Most of the students Are reading below average. Teachers success rates are below standards. I beg you not to let your child attend this waste of funding school. Do your research.


Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 4

Posted October 20, 2012
- a community member
Principal leadership is a heartwarming and sincere role and this principal wants to see every student succeed. This principal is in her second year and replaced a principal who lef tthe current principal with a large overhaul to attend. I believe this is the principal who will turn this school around and who will be able to offer hope to these students for a real future.

Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 1

Posted March 05, 2012
- a community member
I found the school to be very disorganized and some of the children to be extremely rude and disrespectful. In addition, the staff was extremely rude to me, in particular the payroll secretary was very unprofessional.

Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 4

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
I WENT TO THE SCHOOL, AND SO FAR I LIKE IT, I HOPE BY ME WORKING WITH THE TEACHERS IT WILL IMPROVE


Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 1

Posted May 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 2

Posted February 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 3

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
There have been a lot of changes in the school since the new principal came a few years ago. For one thing, I can say thatthe school is clean, and it never was. The principal has an open door policy and whenever necessary the students and the kids can go to her in confidence. I am happyb that the administration actually care about the kids. I read the other reviews and clearly the parent is just venting. I have been in this neighborhood for many years. I have seen the principals come and go. The school has changed for the positive and I think it's a shame that people just sick back and complain and don't join in the effort to make positive change.

Ps 149 Sojourner Truth 3

Posted July 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 149 Sojourner Truth
41 West 117th Street, New York, NY  10026
(646) 672-9020
Last modified Ps 149 Sojourner Truth is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 149 Sojourner Truth Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top