Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 234 Independence School 3

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
There are experienced, hard working, and talented teachers leaving this school because of the principal. Brand new and inexperienced teachers are replacing all the teachers who have left resulting in a very young and unprepared staff. Standards for teachers and children vary depending on the teacher or the child and there is no consistency in communication. The school does not use any research based reading or writing curriculum and the implementation of the math curriculum varies. I have not personally experienced any discrimination against my child, but I have heard some children with special needs have been 'counseled out' of the building with the principal saying, "We don't have that program here." My understanding is that parents are largely unaware of how serious the situation has gotten, but this kind of behavior should not be tolerated. Our children and our teachers deserve better.

Ps 234 Independence School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
My daughter transferred into 234 because of a move. I chose 234 over citywide G&T and I do not regret it. While my daughter is extremely bright, she is not bored or under-stimulated. I am thrilled with her teacher and class. The community is extremely welcoming and Lisa is just about the most real and effective principal possible. I am thrilled with our choice.


Ps 234 Independence School 1

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
PS 234 is getting weaker by the day. The teachers leave each year in droves and the curriculum is so "progressive" that they don't give meaningful homework or periodic assessments. Not the school it used to be!

Ps 234 Independence School 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Our experience up until the beginning of third grade has been very positive. Great teachers, small class sizes compared to other downtown publics, supportive PTA. Somewhat agree with other reviews that achievement bar could be a little higher.

Ps 234 Independence School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
We have two children at the school and find it a very caring and supportive enviornment. The principal is exceptional and she has a great eye for good teachers.


Ps 234 Independence School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
PS 234 is like no other! the principal and vice principal are strong, compassionate, amazing leaders. the teachers are smart, kind and engaging -- really the best around. academically the school is strong but they also have a wonderful social and emotional component that really makes the kids happy, confident and curious learners.

Ps 234 Independence School 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of two children at this school, I am happy with the quality of the education they are receiving. I believe all schools have challenges, yet this school has both the support of the administration led by a powerhouse principal, Lisa R., and an active and wonderful PTA. The staff is approachable and open to discussing all types of issues from academic progress, classroom dynamics, as well as social/family issues. I look forward to seeing how the school rises to the challenge of the more difficult state test to further solidify this school as an outstanding neighborhood school.

Ps 234 Independence School 3

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
The school fails to challenge advanced learners leaving them bored, overconfident, and prone to mischief. Most parents who expect their kids to move on to competitive middle schools hire tutors well in advance of the 4th grade state exams. This is a safe but over-rated choice for elementary years.


Ps 234 Independence School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
The school makes you feel like stay forever.i fall in love with this school.the teacher are so loving so carding.i am so happy with this school.what a great school..........:)

Ps 234 Independence School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
We have 2 children in the school and a third who has already graduated and I couldn't be happier about the whole package. We have had consistently passionate, articulate, engaged teachers who approach the evolving curriculum with thoughtfulness and creativity. It's not about rote learning or test prep -- they teach the kids how to be thinkers and keen observers. Looping enables the teachers to really get to know each child and the dynamic of the class. The PTA is unbelievably organized and effective with an incredibly dedicated and involved community. And Lisa is totally approachable and super smart. She and Elizabeth (the asst. principal) know and greet every child every morning so that even though its a big public school, it feels warm and welcoming.

Nearby schools

Ps 234 Independence School
292 Greenwich Street, New York, NY  10007
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (212) 233-6034
Last modified Ps 234 Independence School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top