Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

9-12|Private
206 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Loyola School 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful, supportive atmosphere at this school. Definitely moulding young men and women into outstanding men & women with emphasis on awareness of the world outside the upper eastside. Strong academics, nurturing environment. Strong college prep & guidance. Don't confuse with the grade school around the corner .......

Loyola School 5

Posted May 12, 2012
- a student
Great school that guides students on the right paths of life. Loyola does not only encourage students to be academically and professionally successful, but it also encourages students to open their eyes to the rest of the world. Through its religious and service programs, Loyola students become more conscious of the world around them and strive to improve that world in their own lives everyday.


Loyola School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
I am the happy and proud father of 2 kids that are currently attending Loyola School, and I cant even enumerate the many reasons I am extraordinarily enthusiastic about Loyola and what they have done for my kids. Loyola has molded my kids into exceptional, confident individuals. They act and think like winners. They are eager to learn. They love Loyola. They love going to school. And they are looking forward to attending great universities soon. I only wish more kids would have access to places like Loyola School.

Loyola School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a community member
I'm an alumna and I can't say enough good things about my time at Loyola. The curriculum is challenging, the teachers are caring and the students are actively involved in their own education. I was especially affected by the Jesuit mandate to make the students into men and women for others -- it affected the way that I look at everyday situations, even now nearly 10 years later.

Loyola School 5

Posted June 18, 2010
- a community member
My daughter graduated from Loyola High School in 2006. She did not attend the elementary school and yet received an excellent education. The teachers, head-master and all of the staff were thoroughly dedicated and very competent. The support she received at Loyola enabled my daughter to achieve an almost perfect score on her SAT s. The curriculum was very well-rounded, offering an abundance of AP courses, while also developing my daughter as an artist with wonderful Art and Drama programs. Participation in Loyola s many and constant volunteer efforts and experiences such being able to compete with a first-class Debate Team made for a very well-prepared and well-rounded student. Upon graduation my daughter had acceptances to Yale, Brown, Columbia, Stanford, Vassar, Georgetown and a half-dozen other great universities. This was true for most of her classmates as well. I credit Loyola for nurturing my daughter and enabling all her future accomplishments.


Loyola School 5

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
We transfered from a top private school for a faith based, co-ed education and found the academics to be very rigorous but in a nurturing, positive environment. This is an extraordinary school.

Loyola School 3

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
Loyola is a very good school. I have been very happy with the currciulum and philosophy of the school for my youngest son. My son would not have survived the academic and disciplinary demands of Xavier High School, which was honestly my first choice for him, but I now feel I made the right decision in as far as alleviating pressure to learn and perform in a nurturing Jesuit environment. I am a tad bit disappointed that they do not carry a football or hockey program for my son, but overall, for a small school, I am happy with the overall product.

Loyola School 5

Posted February 19, 2006
- a parent
Loyola provided my children with quality rigourous education. They had many extracurriculars and exciting activities that my children took part in. We have enjoyed watching our students blossoming at Loyola.


Loyola School 5

Posted October 29, 2005
- a student
Rating this school as a current student, Loyola is a school steadily progressing in the area of academics. Not only is the school being renovated, new teachers being hired and student materials and cirricular activities being enriched, but the soul of the school is being preserved. Loyola still remains a school with 1-15 kids per class, a deep moral and sense of traditional ethics ingrated within the fabric of the school, as well as sincere desire to help one another and others. It is an institution that molds young men and women for others.

Loyola School 4

Posted June 22, 2005
- a student
loyola school really cannot be compared to the other jesuit schools. yes, it is a jesuit school by name, but by nature we are more comparable to private schools like dalton and browning than jesuit schools like xavier and regis. that is because we are co-ed and intimate. as a loyola graduate, i was grateful for the patient and philosophical approach to education. does that make loyola better than the other jesuit schools? no. but it made loyola a better school for me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Loyola School
980 Park Avenue, New York, NY  10028
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (212) 288-3522
Last modified Loyola School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top