Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

PK-8|Private
240 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten at Immaculate Conception (14th St @ 1st Ave) and we LOVE this school! So many schools talk about individual attention and tailored learning, but Immaculate really puts this into practice. Within one week of entering the class, the teacher had already assessed my son’s abilities and adjusted accordingly to engage and challenge him. The principal is experienced, thoughtful, and fully engaged in the daily life of students and families. The staff is caring, organized, and very professional; we transferred mid-year without a single hitch. The school community is diverse, welcoming, and positive. The afterschool program is incredibly affordable, fun, and enriching. Finally, we have truly found a school we can envision nurturing our son for years to come!

Immaculate Conception School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
My son transferred mid-year and had no troubles at all transitioning, due - in no small part - to the school leaders, teachers, and welcoming community!


Immaculate Conception School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Barry is doing wonderful things at Immaculate. My son really loves school, thanks to her efforts. She has a great vision for quality education!

Immaculate Conception School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at Immaculate are very effective. My son gets a great balance of discipline / structure & social interaction. He seems much more focused and ready to learn at Immaculate. Teachers have a good understanding of how to set expectations for academic performance and behavior as well.

Immaculate Conception School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Students are assigned age appropriate & challenging homework. Teachers seem to prepare students to complete assignments and offer extra help when needed


Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I have enrolled two children at this school for over 4 years. Their academic standards are very high and my children do very well on the NY State tests. Much higher than the NY state averages, which show that this school must be doing something right. There is a strong community feeling and all the children are known by the staff. There are a variety of after-school activities along with homework help and many activities are included in the small fee. My children are well rounded and overall this is a good school.

Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
It is 86 degrees but feels like 93 outside and my son was dismissed from school sweating like he had done a workout. It said the classroom was extremely hot and they were not allowed to have class in the auditorium nor the parish hall were there is currently air condition. I was trying to figure out why children were subjected to these conditions? The office were the secretary and Principal remain all day long had there air condition on. How is acceptable especially when some children had medical conditions as my son who has asthma. The office should be ashamed of themselves. All the Principal mentions is how much space is available and it isn't being used. Shame on you Ms. Barry and Ms. Bua for having the children and teachers in these conditions. New parents need to reconsider all the non sense that is told to them at an open house!!

Immaculate Conception School 2

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
I think it's amazing this parent had such a wonderful tour and learned more about the school then I ever knew. As a parent in the school for many years I have no idea what STEM is and have never heard those words from any teacher or the administration.I agree that the teachers are engaged with the children but seem to teach only Common Core. None Common Core books are outdated and do not have current information.The support staff is not as nurturing with students and afterschool is understaffed. How could you have learned so much about the Art and Music program in 30 minutes walking around the building. The art teacher does do amazing work with students which is posted in the lobby. What music program did you observe? The school does a spring show and Christmas show where parents have to pay $5 and wait on line and hope for a seat. There is no other Music events that happen. No other type of shows that other schools seem to do. The PTA are the only reason the students have any non academic events in school which are well put together. So I am thinking this parent visited a different school then my child has been attending for years.


Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
We are a family who is new to this part of the City. Our children have been enrolled in both public and private schools, but we do want them to have a long term experience of a Catholic school. In a recent visit, we found the school to be exactly what we hoped to find as parents largely unfamiliar with the Lower East Side. The principal and staff were extremely welcoming. The tour of the school showed us that Immaculate Conception is at the cutting edge of the STEM initiatives, and the music and art programs seem to be quite lively. Thank goodness that this school has not thrown out an arts curriculum to accommodate Common Core during every hour of the day! Students were courteous and friendly, and teachers were thoroughly engaged with their classes, eliciting many interesting responses to many different situations in all subject areas. Perfect examples of Common Core Standards in action! We are pleased to have enrolled our children for September and look forward to becoming a part of this academic and faith community.

Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
We recently enrolled our daughter at this school for kindergarten and could not be happier. The principal is wonderful and the front office staff could not be more friendly or helpful. Our daughter is developing beautifully and we cannot wait until our son is old enough to enroll. So happy to be a part of the community of ICS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Immaculate Conception School
419 East 13th Street, New York, NY  10009
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (212) 475-2590
Last modified Immaculate Conception School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top