Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At the Alexander Robertson School we believe in educating students by carefully combining training and instruction with the support and nurture of the abilities that young children already have. We see children as they are vivid storytellers, creative inventors, patient collaborators -- and strive to give them the tools to become the thought leaders, architects and effective citizens of tomorrow. Our small size gives children the time and space to develop real self-confidence in their abilities and creativity. It also gives them an understanding of what it means to be an important member of a community. Success for every learner is ensured by our ability to tailor instruction to each child s needs. Our teachers and administrators work collaboratively to develop a wide-ranging curriculum that both inspires and challenges our students and reflects their diversity in backgrounds, needs, and aspirations. We truly believe that all students can excel if taught effectively and we confidently hold high expectations for student achievement in every aspect of their learning.
January 16, 2014

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alexander Robertson School 4

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
I have nothing but wonderful things to say about Alexander Robertson School! Class size is small & nurturing, admin is highly qualified & responsive to students'/parents' needs & curriculum is rigorous. Students are taught classics like French & music while also taking ethics where they learn to be responsible, well-mannered & caring individuals. The student body is the most diverse I have seen in an independent school. ARS is the oldest co-educational school in NYC & is now celebrating its 225th year! The 2014-15 school year will be the most exciting one yet ARS will have a new Headmaster, Irwin Shlachter, a veteran educator whose impressive credentials include Head of School for both Rodeph Shalom School & Claremont Prep. Mr. Shlachter has announced that the school will be expanding to include a pre-K 4 in the fall; wonderful news for many NYC parents who find that current pre-K options are limited. ARS parents are quite involved; PTA sponsors numerous functions throughout the year. There are talent shows, art auctions, wine tastings, class trips, picnics, luncheons, holiday parties & author visits, all organized & subsidized by the PTA. Check it out, you will love it!

Alexander Robertson School 2

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
Good points-The school is small and it feels like a community. Everyone is nice and its like being part of a family. Not so good points-Curriculum is weak. My son was a little advance before entering this school, after one year, my son fell behind a grade level. They really don't have a lot of money. Their report cards were out of date so you could not gauge how well your child was doing. They gave a curriculum at the beginning of the school year and it was not adhered to. Overall, there is a lot of work that needs to be done to this school. Unfortunately, they do not have the funds to do it. I think, as a parent, its easy to get caught up in the small, community like feel of the school. However, academics are more important and this school fails at that. Also, the parental involvement is very poor. A strong parent body is critically important.


Alexander Robertson School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a teacher
At the Alexander Robertson School we believe in preparing students by carefully combining training and instruction with the support and nurture of abilities that young children already have. We see children as they are vivid storytellers, creative inventors, patient collaborators -- and strive to give them the tools to become the thought leaders, architects and effective citizens of tomorrow. Our small size gives children the time and space to develop real self-confidence in their abilities and creativity. Success for every learner is ensured by our ability to tailor instruction to each individual child s needs. Our teachers and administrators work collaboratively to develop and maintain a wide-ranging curriculum that both inspires and challenges our students and reflects their diversity in backgrounds, needs, and aspirations. We truly believe that all students can excel if taught effectively and we confidently hold high expectations for student achievement in every aspect of their learning.

Alexander Robertson School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
This school is wonderful. The class sizes are small, which means students have lots of individual attention. The teachers are very devoted and the whole staff is very attentive and caring to the children and their families. This is a one of a kind school, one block away from Central Park, where students not only learn rigorous academics, but they they also grow in their leadership qualities. Students initialives are nurtured. For example, this year students wanted to make a talent show, and the Principal and the teachers made that happen, which was quite magical. Students performed numbers according to their choice, fromdance to music to magic tricks! Students work on lots of hands on projects from plays to poetry, to art projects, science, social studies, etc. The school has a very strong math component. They use the Singapure method, and the students really learn advanced concepts. This school helps children thrive and reach their potential as well as developing their human qualities. The Principal amazing: very close to the children, caring, knowlegable and oepn-hearted. I really can't say say enough good things about this school. The best kept secret on the Upper West Side!

Alexander Robertson School 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
Alexander Robertson is a wonderful school. Teachers are knowledgeable & able to work in depth on various topics bc class size is small (avg 10 kids/grade). The sense of family & community are strong- upper class students nurture & support the little ones. There is no culture of competition; there is no view that 1 student is better than another. Students are well mannered, kind & respectful to others. ARS, founded by the Presb. church, doesnt teach religion. But the support of the church is a major reason for students' success. Many students rcv some form of financial scholarship. Funds are generously donated by congregation who have made it a mission to support & grow a multiculturallly & economically diverse school body. ARS allows students to be "kids" in a city where they tend to grow up too fast. Students feel safe. They grow & learn then leave to some of the best private & public schools. It is a great school which prepares students to be good learners, critical thinkers & productive society members. Your child will learn & thrive at ARS in a warm comfortable place where she is accepted for who she is & become a confident, intelligent, prepared, and above all, happy student.


Alexander Robertson School 4

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
ARS is a gem of a school, and my child is thriving there. I worried that the small class size would be smothering, but the opposite is the case. He has really come out of his shell. The teachers have been top notch, and it has been clear from discussions with them that they really know my child. There is a thoughtful curriculum, and the school recently adopted the Singapore Math program in an effort to beef up the mathematics curriculum. My one hesitation is that I don't think the school does enough to attract new families. They need to do a better job of marketing to keep their enrollment strong. But, overall, it has been a wonderful place for my child. I would recommend it for anyone, but especially for a child who may need a smaller, more nurturing class size.

Alexander Robertson School 5

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
The small class sizes (max 14 in a class) allows the teachers to give individual attention both to the students who need extra challenges and to those who need extra support in particular area. No student gets to hide or be overlooked. Although we have always been very pleased with the teachers, the bar has been raised in 2011/12 with the best group of teachers, several of whom are also pursuing masters degrees in education while teaching. The school has a new principal this year who goes out of her way to welcome parents. Truly a home away from home.

Alexander Robertson School 5

Posted January 17, 2011
- a parent
Our two children started at ARS. One is on a fellowship at CUNY journalism and the other starts veterinary school next fall. ARS clearly did many things right!


Alexander Robertson School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alexander Robertson School 5

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
ARS is a truly great school. The teachers and staff are all smart, caring and know how to bring out the best in each child. The small classes enable them to cater to the needs of each student and it is a loving place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexander Robertson School
3 W 95th St, New York, NY  10025
(212) 663-6441
Last modified Alexander Robertson School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Alexander Robertson School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top