Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-8
Private
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 174
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Sending your children to The Children's Storefront is like a sending them to be with family. The staff and faculty really show love and concern for the children. I feel my children are in a safe, nurturing environment. The small classroom size allows for better interaction with the students and teachers. The teachers really work hard to ensure the child's learning environment is conducive to their educational level. They also value the child's input in their learning strategies. For example, my son, who is going through a growth spurt, had a difficult time sitting still in his seat during lesson time. The teachers allowed him to stand quietly at his desk while writing his assignment as long as he didn't disrupt any other students. This made a world of difference for my son, who was then able to focus and complete his work. Other schools may have punished him for not being able to sit still. They took my son's needs and worked with him to ensure success. We have alumni and their parents who often come back to participate in fund raisers and to continue to be a part of the school.

Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) 1

Posted July 26, 2012
- a parent
I am very dissapointed in this school's lack of leadership and structure. The gym is house in a church that is needs rehab. The cafetaria is small and my child doesnt eat the food because it's salty. The cafeteria staff and aides are unprofessional and rude. There is no school NURSE. The only water fountain is in the administration office. The 1st grade classroom is in the same bldg as the middle school students who are disrespectful to staff, parents, and other students. Children get preferential treatment is their parents are friends with administration. Their organizational system is nonexistent. They are still using a Cow Bell to alert students when it is time to go class. Teachers do not come get the kids and line up so children have a lack of respect for time. THIS SCHOOL IS NOT ON THE ISAAGNY LIST anymore. There was no summer camp list with all of the community programs in the area nor was there a high school recruitment. I'm looking for another school.


Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a student
I'm 12 and in the 7th grade i attend The Children's Storefront and i love going there it has great acadimics. And its fun bening on the basketball team.

Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) 5

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attends the Children Storefront and I see this school as a very special place. The Storefront provides a strong academic program that has increasingly grown to become quite a challenge. i really love the setting and the administrative tone and expectation at the school/


Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) 5

Posted June 29, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) 4

Posted April 09, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) 4

Posted March 06, 2006
- a parent
My 10 year old daughter has attended The Children's Storefront since she was in pre-school. The school has undergone a couple leadership changes since the founder left, but seems to be settling now. The school is commited to offering a free education to a broad range of students. The teachers work hard at treating each child as an individual and giving them the structure as well as the nurturing needed for them to be successful. The school prides itself on giving each child an excellent education, despite the abilty level of each child. In the past few years there has been a greter emphasis on test scores and the student's overall scores are improving. While the after school budget was cut a few years ago, the school still manages to offer cross-country, music lessons and African Dance for free. Parents are beginning to become more active in school life again.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront)
70 East 129th Street, New York, NY  10035
(212) 427-7900
Last modified Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Storefront Academy Harlem (formerly The Children's Storefront) Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top