Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ School Profile
PK-12
Private
New York, NY
Students enrolled: 624
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Al-Noor School 1

Posted June 19, 2014
- a community member
WORST SCHOOL EVER!!! YOU WILL REGRET SENDING YOUR CHILD HERE. SCHOOL MAKES KIDS MENTALLY INSANE.

Al-Noor School 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a community member
This is the best school ever! The islamc knowledge they probide us is excellent and there are numerous people who excels! The teachers are friendly and are good at what they fo! Best Islamic school by far


Al-Noor School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a community member
This school and it's kids are extremely sexist. The teachers might not be qualified... PUBLIC SCHOOL! The janitors don't do their job. Like I said before SEXIST

Al-Noor School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a community member
this school is excellent. I have been to 4 islamic schools, and by far, this is the best.

Al-Noor School 1

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
It is a worst school ever .I DESTROYED my son's one year there.He didn't improve even one level in one year.Then I had to repeat his grade in public school.


Al-Noor School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Best Islamic school in Brooklyn, also the oldest. Prestige in Islamic learning alongside feeling like you are apart of a family. Facilities need some love but otherwise it's great!

Al-Noor School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The Arabic teachers teach in Arabic. The Quranic classes are taught by scholars. There is a 100% placement for graduating seniors into colleges.

Al-Noor School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
Absolutely love this school. My daughter just started pre-k this year and can already say the alphabet, sing Islamic songs, as well as speak new Arabic words we don't use at home. The teacher's are thoughful and caring, breakfast and lunch are fresh. My child is excited to start her day knowing she's going to school here. She is not forced to be veiled at a young age, and the teacher's are understanding of the various conservativeness of the parents. The administrative staff is VERY understanding and not hounding either. Homework is fun, and not difficult but instead allows the child to use what they learned at school to independently complete the task alone at home--or at least this is the case with my daughter. The teacher's first language is Arabic, although one of the focuses in the classroom is an English class. My child comes home with Arabic, English and simple math homework that she enjoys doing and remembers practicing during the day. I am absolutely thrilled she is apart of this school!


Al-Noor School 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
great education, nice atmosphere, my son love to be there start writing after 2 weeks

Al-Noor School 1

Posted May 18, 2010
- a teacher
Honestly, do you want to know about this school? Its the worst school any parent could send their child to. Me as a staff member hate it, and soon wont be apart of it anymore the leaders in this school are discusting they way they treat students and handle situations. The school its self isnt even sanitary honestly speaking. And half of the schools actions they could be sued for, so many illegal things happen in this school and they try to hide it. Horrible school, which disappoints me alot coming from a muslim society.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Al-Noor School
675 4th Avenue, New York, NY  11232
(718) 768-7181
Last modified Al-Noor School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Al-Noor School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top