Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ms 243 Center School 3

Posted March 28, 2016
- a community member
My child is having a mixed experience at the Center School. Some of the teachers actually embarrass the children and behave in a way that is closer to a preteen than an adult. There's also a lot of favoritism within the school that can make some children feel truly left out. The principle seems to take a very hands off policy with regard to the teachers regardless of parental complaints or concerns which can be very disheartening. The academics are quite good with the exception of one or two teachers who appear to have burned out.

Ms 243 Center School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
the center school is first rate. my son's performance has improved dramatically in all subjects


Ms 243 Center School 4

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
1 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1 11 1 1 1

Ms 243 Center School 2

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test test

Ms 243 Center School 1

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
Some teachers at this school are abusive and the principal does not care. I know for a fact they are under investigation but the DOE considers corporeal punishment a private human resources matter so even if charges are found to be substantiated there is no public record of this.


Ms 243 Center School 5

Posted November 21, 2011
- a parent
I absolutely love everything about the Center School. My daughter just graduated June 2011 and my son is currently an 8th grader. If they could continue their high school years at Center School, they would. Students enjoy being there every day. Teachers are amazingly helpful, involved and well appreciated. Ms. Schwartz, Director of Center School is also amazing. She knows each student by their first name and it s not because they re in trouble, it s because she is in tuned to each child s academic performance. Parents are totally involved. I have not met one single parent that had or has anything negative to say about the Center School. If you were to ask any parent what would they change about Center School, they would probably say nothing or would really need to think about the question. Outstanding school!

Ms 243 Center School 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
I am a former student of the Center School and I plan on sending my daughter there when she's in the 5th grade. Out of all of my school years the Center School left the biggest impression on me. It's not one of those big schools where you get lost in the shuffle and your teacher doesn't know your name. It's a community... it's a family. I recently saw one of the teachers on the train, she's still teaching at the school and she remembered me (10+ years since I graduated). In fact half of the teachers that were their when I was attending are still there. If that doesn't tell you a little something about the teacheers there I don't kow what does.

Ms 243 Center School 5

Posted June 12, 2009
- a parent
Every day I'm thankful that my children (7th grader and 5th grader) are at the Center School. They continue to receive a steller education and exposure to things that rival many of the elite private schools. I'm convinced that any child who is willing to be challenged will come through their program a shining star!


Ms 243 Center School 1

Posted June 11, 2009
- a student
The Center School is easily the worst school in the city. It claims to be a 'community' but is hardly one. Do your child a favor and do not send them to this horrendous school.

Ms 243 Center School 5

Posted February 07, 2009
- a parent
We have sent all three of our children to Center School and they have received an outstanding education from a faculty that is creative and attends to the most important aspects of education, engagement and competence. All three of our children have been prepared and made it into the specialized high schools both science and the La Guardia. This small community really offers a private school education in a public school. The kids and adults make it a wonderfully loving community. You're lucky if you get the chance for your child to attend.

Nearby schools

Ms 243 Center School
100 West 84th Street, New York, NY  10024
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (212) 799-1477
Last modified Ms 243 Center School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top