Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ms 255 Salk School Of Science
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Homework is not overwhelming for the most part. And, it is usually creative and engaging. To give some examples, they've had to create a fictitious country and write about how the landforms affect the lives of the people, do a powerpoint on a product they have created to solve a problem they have encountered ....

Ms 255 Salk School Of Science
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Definitely. One of the teachers asked my child to include another kid, who is shy, when they go out to lunch. I have seen kindness and compassion displayed by the teachers and the management alike.


Ms 255 Salk School Of Science 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
My son is in 6th grade. I am really impressed with this school. He is learning science by doing hands on experiments. They get a lot of creative assignments - including in social studies! The art teacher is very passionate and talented, and she is able to bring out the best in the kids. The management (principal, parent coordinator) all display compassion and kindness.

Ms 255 Salk School Of Science
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
I want to say 'thank you' to Heather Drayzen, the art teacher. She inspires the kids to go above and beyond what they think they can produce. The art is amazing at this school

Ms 255 Salk School Of Science 4

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
Overall this school has been great. The science education is strong and kids are really given a solid foundation for understanding scientific concepts. My son writes a lot--not sure if he is being given lots of feedback on his writing, but lots of writing is a good thing. There is not that much homework, which is fine. I don't believe in busy work. The teachers are all dedicated and hard working. I gave a 4 because this school is very homogenous--upper east side wasps and jewish families seem to make up 95% of the population. The kids are all nice, but this is New York, and it is a bit disconcerting. Kids benefit from great academic experiences and friendships with kids from different backgrounds. That is not happening here.


Ms 255 Salk School Of Science 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
I am impressed with the academic excellence . However, the attention to total learning , after school and student collaboration is even better . For example my granddaugther and her team did an incredable job on a paper using a computer video and graphics .

Ms 255 Salk School Of Science 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy with Salk. It's the kind of school where everyone can find their niche, find friends and somehow fit in. It's cool to be smart and it's not one big fashion show. Many families have a lot of money, but you would never know it, because the vibe is so laidback and down to earth. It just seems like a healthy environment for tweens and young teens. I think the education they are receiving is very good, and the teachers are all smart and hardworking. I do wish they would let the parents know how their children are doing before the parent/teacher conferences and report cards. Most assignments are not returned with grades! Otherwise we don't have any complaints.

Ms 255 Salk School Of Science 4

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
One notable thing about Salk is how happy and well-adjusted the kids that attend it are! My son is very happy here. The h/w load is manageable (although, probably like other middle schools, there tends to be ALOT of work all at once right before the end of the marking periods), teachers seem very motivated. The reason for 4 stars is my very negative experience trying to get an issue resolved last year - it took 6 weeks of phone calls and emails before it was addressed (the parent coord. never responded and the admin. in charge of the school did not act until I had to go outside of school to get help) - very disappointing. Heard from several other parents who had similar experience . Perhaps this will improve now that the principal is back from the sabbatical? The guid. counselor, on the other hand, is excellent - professional and proactive!


Ms 255 Salk School Of Science 3

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
Not all of us can pop into meetings during the business day on one day's notice. I did email the principal to ask. Again, a school where teachers speak with improper grammar, making the mistake just corrected in the lesson, math teachers routinely make arithmetic errors and children are screaming daily is not wonderful.

Ms 255 Salk School Of Science 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school. We have nothing but positive things to report from our 7th grade daughters experience. I believe if the parent below (April 17) would have attended the meeting where the principal discussed her sabbatical she would have a better understanding of the timing of her leave. This was a meeting open to all families. We love Salk!

Nearby schools

Ms 255 Salk School Of Science
319 East 19th Street, New York, NY  10003
(212) 614-8785
Last modified Ms 255 Salk School Of Science is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top