Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / School Profile

9-12|Private
61 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St George Academy 1

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Overall, the year and half my daughter spent at St. George Academy was a pain in the neck. We could not transfer her in Junior year, since the college application was on its way; if we could? I would not have left my daughter in that school any longer. Don't recommend.

St George Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
The science teacher is valuable to thank, for he has been neutral or at least respectful of the students' opinions.


St George Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Although I was looking for an affordable school, St. George Academy was not what I was looking for from an institute where students should learn and feel comfortable in the place where they spend most of the day. As a mother of 3, in my opinion, you are better off choosing another school.

St George Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Overall, the year and half my daughter spent at St. George Academy was a pain in the neck. We could not transfer her in Junior year, since the college application was on its way; if we could? I would not have left my daughter in that school any longer. Don't recommend.

St George Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Overall, the year and half my daughter spent at St. George Academy was a pain in the neck. We could not transfer her in Junior year, since the college application was on its way; if we could? I would not have left my daughter in that school any longer. Don't recommend.


St George Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
The Mathematics teacher was overall respectful, hearing, empathizing, and easy to talk to; as opposite at the officials of the school.

St George Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Determination? I don't really think it does. If there is persistence, in those two years my daughter attended St. George Academy, the only persistence was arrogance from school officials.

St George Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was part of the journal staff, the volleyball club coordinator, the highest Science grader, and despite having those qualifications, non have been ever recognized, nor awarded to her, as opposite to other students who had not been as proficient.


St George Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
There is no feeling of integrity at this institute, starting from the officials, ending with some of the faculty member I've gotten to speak to.

St George Academy 1

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
I can't think of a less hospital and unprofessional school. I sent my daughter for her sophomore and junior year at St. George Academy; now I can say I regret doing it. School officials are difficult to approach, for my daughter had to beg to receive her report card by the end of December for sending it to college she was applying to. My husband and I had to walk in in person to ask if we could exercise our right of receiving the report card of our daughter, and their answer:"what's up" We said "can we please have Hailey's report card for she's applying to college? The lady who apparently has been working at the school for decades, felt almost like we were trying to borrow money or something. It's always been a pressure-feeling like environment, every time there was a situation where interacting with school officials at St. George Academy was necessary. Although I was looking for an affordable school, St. George Academy was not an institute designed for students to learn and feel comfortable in the place where they spend most of the day, but overall those two years have been a pain in the neck; especially because we could not transfer in Junior year, since the college application was on its way. In conclusion, from a mother of 3, you are better off choosing another school.

Nearby schools

St George Academy
215 East 6th Street, New York, NY  10003
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (212) 473-3323
Last modified St George Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top