Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southern Tier Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 24 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Olean

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $64,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $723.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

My three children attend this school because it allows them to thrive. When I was threatened with a job loss, our family decided that we would move to a smaller home and drive older cars before we quit paying for STCS. The teachers are very available to talk with parents or provide extra help to students. My children enjoy after school clubs and there is an after school program for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2010

My son is in the Pre-K program and it is excellent!! His teachers are super caring and supportive. He is making leaps and strides in learning the basics. I feel that he is well ahead of others his age who are in the public schools. I would highly recommend the school-it is well worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Our school has the full package. Rated #1 in the area (Business 1st). We have strong academics as well as the opportunity to express our faith and love of God. We have a caring family- oriented atmosphere and it has been a true pleasure to have be part of it for the past 24 years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2010

I love the emphasis on what is REALLY important....GOD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I have been a teacher at STCS for twenty years and I love the people and the atmosphere of the school. Both of my children graduated from STCS and had wonderful experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Southern Tier Catholic School offers families a great education and strong moral values. We are proud of our small treasure of a school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2010

Day in and day out a genuine love of God, Children and Learning is felt! STCS exemplifies the best qualities and character teaching our youth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

It instills in the children religious values, charity as well as giving them a good basic education. When I pick up my grandchildren from school or attend an event it is the atmosphere of respect and caring I notice immediately.


Posted June 11, 2008

I would give four stars for good learning environment, five stars for good moral safety, and appropriate values, but two stars for facilities, and two stars for extra curriculars, and two stars for intellectual opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 10% 1%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 5% N/A
Black 1% 21%
Hispanic 1% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Thomas Mcglinn
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (716) 372-6707

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

208 North 24th Street
Olean, NY 14760
Website: Click here
Phone: (716) 372-2891

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT