Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Pulaski, NY
Students enrolled: 342
 

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pulaski High School 4

Posted June 12, 2013
- a student
I see that parents are upset by he new homework policy, however, it's the teachers' faults. They are abusing what the homework policy means and going behind high officials' backs to do so. I understand that they are trying to instill a deeper sense of self responsibility in us as students, but they are not following up on what they are telling the teachers to do, therefore upsetting the parents and students alike. However, the whole "Pulaski is focusing on quantity over quality!" thing is not fair. This would be the state's fault. This is happening across the board, noy just in Pulaski. The state board of education has gotten test happy but don't realize what that does to today's youth. The school can't exactly help it. Believe me when I say that all of the teachers at Pulaski have said that they do not agree with all of the new tests. It is upsetting for everybody. I personally hate it. However if you are looking to move a student into Pulaski, academics-wise, we are still the best in the area. The teachers here put as much effort as they can into turning us into respectable men and women. So parents, please don't hate so much. For the most part, we can't exactly help it.

Pulaski High School 1

Posted September 16, 2010
- a parent
SAD! SAD! SAD! Our children need to be challenged and our schools are failing them on all levels- What is up w/ the new homework policy? It's totally unacceptable! If students are to be successful in college they need to buils a strong fondation in high school. I think the district really needs to rethink this ridiculous homework policy.


Pulaski High School 1

Posted September 10, 2010
- a community member
This year, the school has instituted a districtwide policy that all teachers will be forbidden to give homework grades. They are only allowed to check off whether it is complete or not. Although only students with all homework turned in will be allowed to take the test, I'm sure they'll be forcibly allowing make-ups for the kids who turn it in late (or do it all the last week of the quarter). This is not a best instructional practice here. This school used to be one of the best in the area when I attended it a decade ago, but it's gone far downhill. This is only one example of recent unacceptable changes.

Pulaski High School 0
no rating

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
I agree with the previous comment. Extracurricular activities are great. The band program is very strong and Mr. Jennings, the band teacher, is great with the kids and expects a lot from them. Sports are very good too, with devoted coaches, althought not very knowledgeable ones. Most teachers are somewhat friendly. On the academics side, it is definitely lacking a great deal. Students have too many opportunities to repeat an assignment, seldom with penalty for tardiness or failing on previous attemps. It seems they care more about final scores, but I don't see students graduating with a strong academic base. Except for a couple of teachers, there is no real check on kids' grammar and proper writing. School officials and teachers alike often give out handouts with major typographical errors.

Pulaski High School 4

Posted March 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pulaski High School 2

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pulaski High School 3

Posted May 31, 2006
- a parent
The extracurricular activities and small town atmosphere are great but the academics are lacking. Teacher teach to a minimal regents curriculum, esp in Chemistry and Math. The school is test score happy at the expense of acceleration and meaninful learning. All students take the MathA and English regents exams TWICE. You read that right, twice. Also the smoke in the bathrooms is terrible.

Pulaski High School 3

Posted February 09, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pulaski High School 5

Posted March 29, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pulaski High School 2

Posted September 17, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pulaski High School
4624 Salina Street, Pulaski, NY  13142
(315) 298-5103
Last modified Pulaski High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pulaski High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top