Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waterside Children S Studio School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
The entire WCSS team is fantastic! We are truly blessed to have them with us!

Waterside Children S Studio School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
PS317Q - Waterside Children's Studio School is phenomenal. Our first grader twins have attended since Pre-K and let us tell you how wonderful this school is. Principal Gerendasi and her team are tireless. We feel blessed to have the ability to see our children learn and grow in such an academically rich and nurturing environment. There are enrichment clusters, after school programs in art, music, dance and drama, we have our winter & spring arts festivals and now ... student led conferences. Parents are engaged and participate in school events. We are truly lucky to have Waterside in Rockaway.


Waterside Children S Studio School 5

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
Waterside has come a long way. I have 3 children in this school since pre K. I gave 5 stars because the teachers are amazing people. Every teacher they've ever had are wonderful and dedicated to their class. They really go above and beyond to help each child grow and learn. The teachers show hope and inspire the children. Although the classes are crowded, children naturally will fall behind. When problems arise they are always addressed however there is only so much that can be done, things seem to get swept under the rug or dragged out. There are a lot of unhappy parents due to isolated incidents but overall, the kids are happy there. Most problems arise from children whose parents are not the most involved, if you know what I mean. This is Rockaway and the choices in schools are very limited.

Waterside Children S Studio School 5

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
WCSS is an amazing school!! The principal and teachers and staff are very supportive and caring about the students. The academics are rigorous and my son has advanced so much in reading, math and science in just the first grade alone. The arts, drama, music and enrichment clusters are a nice balance to compliment with hands on learning. I am extremely happy with PS 317.

Waterside Children S Studio School 5

Posted January 16, 2012
- a parent
This school is fantastic. The standards are way up in this school. If you ever go to any events where Dana explains the curriculum, you would know how high the standards and expectations are at this school. That is why they got an A on the progress report. I know about the new common core learning standards because P.S. 317 principal and staff explains it to us in great detail. The arts are implemented within the standards and keep the kids engaged. My child knows how to read because of this school. The community LOVES this school and so do I. I hear all the talk about how great this school is and I am so happy to live in the zone so that my child can go to the best school in the city. This school is so safe and any unsafe behavior is dealt with on the spot, it never escalates. I love everything about this school!!!!!


Waterside Children S Studio School 1

Posted October 04, 2011
- a community member
It is so clear that what is being done at this school is not effective. The learning is so fragmented that the students never catch up or have time to complete a task or project completely or adequately.

Waterside Children S Studio School 2

Posted September 11, 2011
- a community member
Students are pumped through and the standards are very low at this school. It is such a shame.

Waterside Children S Studio School 1

Posted September 07, 2011
- a teacher
There is too much focus on the arts and not enough on academic subjects. So many of these students have not mastered the basic skills they will need in the future.


Waterside Children S Studio School 4

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
Waterside children s studio school 317 is a great school; the principal is approachable and knowledgeable, promotes an active and social environment for the students and the parents. The teachers are involved with the school and active in its desire to make it better. The teachers are involved in what they call enrichment courses, sewing, arts and crafts, basketball, cheerleading and more. They are also involved in the PTA, which promotes parent and child socialization, with extras like movie night and social gatherings. My child has shown great improvement academically and in self-esteem. My child has been encouraged to propose enrichment programs, like clean our beach. The school is a safe environment and attentive to a child s and a parents needs.

Waterside Children S Studio School 5

Posted April 29, 2011
- a parent
2 yrs ago I was torn because being a homeowner I believe that my tax dollars should be reflected in the school in my community. Almost two years ago to the day I met Dana Gerandasi & this was one of the best chance encounters ever! I explained my concerns & she asked me to give her 1 year to show me what an amazing education she would provide to not only my daughters but children of our community. Here we are just about 2 years later & my daughters are excelling academically! Her team of teachers are all as dedicated as she is & share in her vision! The culture of the school is one that is inviting, parent friendly, very informative & JUST AMAZING! Dana, Katy McGulliciddy, Zoraida Quiles & all of the teachers have provided an amazing foundation for my children! Every time I have had a question, I have been received by open arms. My daughters are very lucky to attend this school & I wouldn't have it any other way! I wish this school could be duplicated everywhere, in every community all over the city! Thank you Dana for everything you have done so far & everything you will do! You are a woman of your word and I am honored to know you! Mr. and Mrs. Joseph and Cynthia Nieto

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waterside Children S Studio School
1-79 Beach 110th Street, Queens, NY  11694
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (718) 634-1344
Last modified Waterside Children S Studio School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top