Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillcrest High School 4

Posted June 16, 2016
- a student
I'm a senior at this school about to graduate. I've been going to hillcrest for 4 years and I can honestly say it really is not that bad. Most of the kids my senior year were able to get into really good colleges including Ivy leagues, and won a lot of scholarships. If you take all ap and honor classes you will be surrounded by amazing teachers and students, but if you decide to stay in normal classes you will be surrounded by terrible people and hate this school. Most of the teachers are really friendly and help prepare you for college. The only bad thing about hillcrest is that it doesn't have too many ap classes you can sign up for like other high schools and some students give the school a bad name by smoking and fighting inside of the school. You will see fights and the hallways smell of weed once in a while, but if you avoid doing that stuff you'll have an amazing time here I promise. Overall I made a lot of friends these past four years, learned a lot from the teachers, and was able to get into an amazing college. Hillcrest is a wonderful highschool.

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
Hillcrest is a wonderful school with clear rules and expectations for its students as well as a rigorous curriculum.


Hillcrest High School 4

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
This school is great but I do have to say there are some flaws in the school. I don't like the rule for not allowing cellphones to step one foot in the building. What if there was an emergency my son wouldn't have his phone! Otherwise very good school!

Hillcrest High School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a student
it is an amazing school and I recommend it to a lot of people. people who think its bad s crazy

Hillcrest High School 1

Posted January 20, 2014
- a student
I have nothing to say but to ask God to help everyone who has anything to do with this school. I'm attending this this because there's no way out for me but I would escape this jail in a heart beat if i could. I would advice everyone and anyone to not go there! Worst school in the history of mankind. This school will never improve no matter what!


Hillcrest High School 4

Posted December 03, 2013
- a student
This school is actually pretty good. The teachers are very helpful and kind to you. Yeah there's a little problem with the metal detectors once in a while which can be overcrowded and it makes you late to class. But other than that everything if fine you just have to be selective of your group of friends and you'll be fine.

Hillcrest High School 1

Posted November 21, 2013
- a community member
This school is horrible. I felt like I signed a cellphone contract with this school. There are anyflexibility and their are not many choices sometimes. The school won't be a place to help you through your struggles. Most teachers grade you with no rubric. Its a surprise. Biased to be. I can't wait till my "contract" ends in June. I liked my experience with some teachers who helped me. But all in all this school is not a first choice aspect.

Hillcrest High School 1

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
This school and it's principle puts band before education and excuses ahead problems! God forbid you try and take your child out of marching band to allow them more time to study after school because your theatened with pulling your child out of all band programs. And it doesn't matter that your child makes A's and B's in all other classes and one teacher gives everyone zero's. they have an excuse for that to! Don't get me wrong Hillcrest has good teachers but the principal needs some principles!


Hillcrest High School 1

Posted January 02, 2012
- a student
Hillcrest High School is an okay school (6/10). I attend Hillcrest High School and it is not the best. The classes are unorganized. The Honor classes are mixed up. They put very low average students in the class and the smart kids are in the regular classes. There are metal detectors and it may be smart, but it's not. Students sneak it in anyway possible. The school is okay when it comes to teachers. The staff aren't great. They literally curse at you and will punish you harshly. For example, no I.D. you will get suspended. You don't have a schedule, your going to get suspended. The school is very different in ethnicity. Its 55% black, 35%Asian (Muslim) 10%Hispanic. The halls are sometimes clean. You can find burgers on the stairs. if you spill something on Friday, you're going to see it on Monday. The halls are always crowded. There are always fights in the cafeterias.(3rd & 4th). There are about 8 SLC's or Academies. Out of all the best are the Pre-Med and Business and Tech SLC. The schedules are very unorganized. The kids aren't from the same SLC's. Its very mixed. When applying for H.S, you should avoid this H.S. If you live close to the school, go at least to Thomas Edison HS

Hillcrest High School 3

Posted September 11, 2011
- a student
the school itself is okay it has alot of classes and smaller academy's to chose from but there are a few students in it that make it a very uneasy place personally i wouldn't send my kid there and i can't wait until i graduate next year

Nearby schools

Hillcrest High School
160-05 Highland Avenue, Queens, NY  11432
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. (718) 658-5407
Last modified Hillcrest High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top