Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 783

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 4

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
The school is excellent. The watch over my daughter and they always let me know if she has a problem. The teachers she has had are excellent and really care about her . The only problem I have with the school is the PTA makes it in possible for parents that work to participate in important decisions. Like the elections and informative meetings. They only cater to the parents who sit home on welfare and don't work. Working parents have no say everything is do between 8am and 11am. Some of us work! I am subtracting a star for the failure of the PTA to get parents involved. Teachers and administration are great.

Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2011
- a parent
This school is great for my student in 5th grade. Teacher's Are doing a great job of teaching. This School is wonderful for students in Pre-k to 5th grade.The Principal is wonderful with students and parents.Thank You PS50Q


Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
This school has deteriated in the past months with the new principal. Many things have been covered up behind closed doors, which parents are still confused as to what purpose does this principal serve? She was or hasn't fully reached out in a warm and inviting way to the parents of PS50. There have been more than five times where the police was called to the school without a brief explaination of why or was the safety of our children was ever a concern when parents saw the police vehicles outside the school. How parents are restricted from using the building (which from the rules and regulations of the nyc chancelaor) parents are welcomed and are incouraged to be part of the school' s enviroment. How can parents be misguided about the the basic truth about their children and the way that this process of a millitant order is and has been established, which takes away the rights the as parents, we ADVOCATE for from the first day they were born. Something should change the way the GOD complex with principals, have confused and strayed their really purpose of what their job details states. For those that are still in search, ASK FOR MORE RESULTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 3

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
I know my child is in good hands when she walks through those school doors in morning. There are staff members in the school who knows her by name and she can go to in cases of need. I believe the principal has put her best foot forward thus far in the progress of the school.

Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
We have a new principal and it seems like she is interested about parent involvement, she seems easier to talk to compare to the last principal we had. Let's give her time to settle in.


Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 2

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Basically, it's the 6th graders setting bad example for the lowers grades. As a parent of this school I think the school should be k-5 grade maybe discipline might be easier to enforce.

Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 2

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
This school has to many issues with discipline, children do not respect the teachers, and some teachers do not respect the children in the way they speak to them. Parents involvement is very poor, and safety and discipline is not longer a priority. The school used to be great, but it has come down to be very bad in the last 3 years.

Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
To many conflicting rules and regulations, which only serves to undermind our children and seperate them into racial classfications. There are to many of the DOE polices that aren't followed with the protection and nurturing of our children and parents/guardians of our community. The lunch period starts at 9:40am ach day for the students that start school at 8am. Other issues which concerns our school are the proper supervision of the upper grades with alcoholic drinks, sexual misconduct, the inproper way of addressing our children, improper security that safe guards our children, lack of clean bathrooms for our children to use(including the smell of urine), ill equiped custodians with keeping the school's cafeteria, inexperienced school nurse that is unqualified to treat any child that has any issue of cuts,bruises and or broken limbs, and the closed door policy that has engaged our parents with the school administration.


Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 1

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
the teachers are to hard on kids and give them too much homework

Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School 4

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
my son just started first grade and i think the school is well organize ,because my son home work is checked everyday by his class teachers and they seems to be on top of things,even though it's early in the school year .lets hope they will keep it up .

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School
143-26 101st Avenue, Queens, NY  11435
(718) 526-5336
Last modified Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 50 Talfourd Lawn Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top