Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Is 141 The Steinway
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
It's my daughter's first year at The Steinway (7th Grade) and she appreciates most of her teacher and mentions them regularly, but she feels particularly inspired and encouraged by is her Science teacher, Mr. Pollack. She's always liked Science, but now she's extremely drawn to it, due to the teacher's own fascination by whatever he's teaching.

Is 141 The Steinway
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
This school has the worst administration I have ever seen. They have no idea what is going on in the school.


Is 141 The Steinway 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
They have the worst education system, they separate the children into academies which makes them feel less than the others and gives room for belittlement by the students in the ,"Smarter Academy" . They can care less about the special education programs and the children who really need them are just moved along with out any knowledge of the subjects. But as long as the school gets the 504 money there fine.

Is 141 The Steinway 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
Great school. ..The staff was wonderful..I loved being in the band. .played the alto saxophone

Is 141 The Steinway 4

Posted November 30, 2014
- a community member
This school is pretty good. The principal is very nice and really cares for the students. The assistant principal of the shakespeare academy is such a nice lady she genuinely care for all of the students in her academy. One of the 6th grade ELA teachers is the sweetest old lady, she make ela a fun subject. A 7th grade teacher is young a thinks she knows everything she doesn't make you want to go to her class. She says that you can forget things, she is one of the worst teachers there.


Is 141 The Steinway 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
School is very good both principle and vice principle are very nice But teacher are very racial

Is 141 The Steinway 2

Posted January 18, 2014
- a community member
The school is okay, I'm in my last year here. Most of the teachers are pretty good, but I can sense discrimination and favoritism in some. Some of my former teachers, and current teachers had obvious favorites in the class, and constantly calls on those people and don't give other kids the opportunity to talk in class. By the time they are called on, everything has been said. Plus the school is split into three. I have friends in another academy, but I barely get to talk to them. Plus there is barely any communication between the 6th graders and 8th graders, theres none at all if you don't have a younger sibling or a friend with a younger sibling. This splitting up can put strain on relationships with other people. Plus it causes the argument of which academy is better. Plus there is an issue with the honor classes, they get stuck with the sucky things. I mean, I'm in top honors and my SS teacher is and ELA teacher, and she's not a good SS teacher, a better ELA, I've had her for that also. So we're basically teaching ourselves.

Is 141 The Steinway 5

Posted January 13, 2013
- a community member
this is a very great school. i think that they should get a 9 rating.


Is 141 The Steinway 4

Posted July 03, 2012
- a community member
I'm going to this school next year ,I'm soooooooooo excited the only thing I'm worried and don't know much about is the acadamies. When am I going to get the packet . Teacher said in summer and it's summer....... WHERE IS THE PACKET WITH ALL THE INFO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is 141 The Steinway 2

Posted April 28, 2012
- a community member
The school is okay but some students haven't had a social studies teacher since October. Also, by having honor classes and honor society it makes kids who aren't in it feel dumb. Also, having acdemies. They are the same but because of it some kids think they are smarter. And this school has too many cliques and if your're not popular n one really talks to you. And this school is in need of improvement the letter came in the mail. So if it's such a great school and has been rated A for 5 years. Why is it in need of improvement. Good school but has problems on the inside. And i go here. in the 7th grade.

Nearby schools

Is 141 The Steinway
37-11 21st Avenue, Queens, NY  11105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (718) 278-6403
Last modified Is 141 The Steinway is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top