Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 162 John Golden 1

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
The school is mismanage and student care is the last thing on their minds. Dangerous - a parent was struck and killed in front of the school while dropping off her kid in 2010. After four years, it is still chaotic and dangerous to cross the streets around the school. The idea of starting half of the school early might solve the problem never cross this people's minds. Students are forced outside during frigid weather on recess for "fresh air". Of cause they need "fresh air" when they have to wake up at 7 to get ready for school that starts at 8 and when the thermostat set at suffocating 80 degree. Opening the windows or lowering the thermostat doesn't seem to an option for them. My son's K teacher had other students in the school to check her students' HW. His eyelid had an infection for three years because she was too lazy to check his folder that he has allergy and sent him out on recess in the Spring. The only HW, other than math, that his 3rd grade teacher gave him for the whole year was writing spelling words 3x. She might be a friend of the K teacher because she had the students cross check each others HW. These 2 "teachers" are still with the school.
2 people found this helpful

Ps 162 John Golden 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
This is an outstanding school in Queens. My son attended the first half of the year in Kindergarten here. School was very organized. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Teachers are ok. Some better than others from what I heard and seen. But the school itself is really good. We had to move in the middle of the school year. We moved to Manhattan and my son currently attends one of the most prestigious (as they call it here) in Manhattan but let me tell you: here in the city they are way behind PS.162! My son was starting to read in kindergarten (when at PS 162). When we moved here, the children in Kindergarten did nothing but play and eat sugary treats all day! Also, the schools in manhattan are very disorganized. I miss how PS.162 was so organized. The Principal and her Assistant were always in the school yard in the morning. The parent coordinator Debbie was the best. Always friendly, approachable, and ready to help. I have nothing but good memories here. If your child is here, congratulations! This is a wonderful school! If you're considering enrolling your child, I wouldn't hesitate for a minute!


Ps 162 John Golden 4

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
My son transfered to 4th grade and he is now in 5th grade at P.S.162 John Golden school. I have very good experiences with the school teachers and staffs. My son felt like he can do anything with his current teachers. His 4th grade teacher was very accommodating and 5th grade teacher is very good at motivating students, at least it is the case for our son. Our son excelled beyond our expectations. I have seen many parent coordinators in the past but nobody is as dedicated as Ms. Debora Strassburg at ps162. She is very knowledgeable and approachable. I always feel comfortable asking her questions or clarifications. If It wasn't for too many fundraising events, I would have given the school a 5 rating.

Ps 162 John Golden 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Great school, and good teachers in PS162, the school have musical, baseball , ballroom, State test prep and so on for afterschool

Ps 162 John Golden 1

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
This is a HORRIBLE school. They do not care about the kids. They only care about public appearance. And all they do is fundraise for the PTA, however I have yet to see any of the funds benefit my kids. Most of the staff, including the teachers need to retire or find a new career. The parent coordinator is not there for the parents or students. And, this is a big BULLY school. The principal is the worst offender. You would think that if a parent calls to discuss this issue she would have the decency to return the calls. They do not address this because they themselves are Bullies. Can't comment about the current PTA, but in previous years, they are the worst offenders in breaking the rules. They would be the ones ready to run you over with their huge SVUs because they were late in dropping or picking up their kids and they will never stop at the STOP signs. The only time any issues are addressed at this school is when someone gets seriously hurt. I would NOT recommend this school to anyone.


Ps 162 John Golden 1

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible, my child had such a bad experience here and she still talks about how much she hated going to ps162. The school does not care about the child at all, all they care is about test scores. If your child doesn't meet the standards, instead of giving them the extra care that they need they just hold them back. The principle and the teachers act nice and caring in front of you but all they care is how they are going to get better scores and if they think the child can not perform they just take the chance away from you, is that fair? Your child doesn't even get a chance to take the test, so how do you know if your child is going to pass or fail?, they just decide you are not good enough and take that chance away from you and call you a failure even before you have failed. My child is in private school now and she loves it, she loves going to school, the staff is very friendly, her teacher is wonderful and absolutely no bullying. According to her new teacher she is up to date and doing fine has no problems academically. I DO NOT RECOMMEND PS162 TO ANYONE IS A HORRIBLE SCHOOL
2 people found this helpful

Ps 162 John Golden 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
It's an average school for district 26. It all depends on what teacher your child will get. Some of them are amazing, and some are lazy and should be fired.

Ps 162 John Golden 2

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
The teachers there are great. School environment is excellent. The new Principal is very warm and friendly who tries her best to make the school become a very safe place for students to learn and grow. But the admin. workers there are very unprofessional and also very unfriendly. They never said " Thank you", "Please", "Sorry", and I guess they've never attended the kindergarten. I heard they yell at the students and treated parents in a very rude manners. The worst part is that they acted like they are the big boss who control the school. Don't forget that without all the parents supports, the school can not function well. Remember, you are only the worker there, not the President of the school.
1 person found this helpful


Ps 162 John Golden 1

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
my son went to this school for 2 years... little recess time, art and music ... the teachers are constantly screaming in the hall wall. The staffs don't welcome parent involvement. Parents are not allow to go in the classroom to celebrate birthdays. All the administrative staff including the principal are unfriendly. My son is really shy and he said the teacher is constantly yelling at other trouble kids. Overall.... a very NOT caring school.

Ps 162 John Golden 1

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
We've been in this school for 10 years. I wrote a 5 star review after my child's first year here and now its down to 1. The principal prior to the one who recently retired seemed to have it right. Most of the attention in class is spent on the loudest child-usually with behavioral issues. There is a lot more bullying going on. It has come to screaming matches and tears among parents in the yard during pick up. Most of the teachers are Wonderful educators, but there's a handful that are more concerned with their cell phones than their classrooms. They should be required to leave their phones in their mailboxes upon entering the building so they are not tempted to use them during working hours. Everything in this school is about the testing. This is not my idea of a well-rounded education. Huge lack in the spelling dept. What happened to the annual spelling bee???Positive changes are definitely needed. Parent Coordinator has made some, maybe she can bring back plays & trips too. Keep in mind: disrespectful, loud children get the attention here. If your child is quiet but may need help now and then, there is a good chance they will fall through the cracks of this overcrowded school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 162 John Golden
201-02 53rd Avenue, Queens, NY  11364
(718) 423-8621
Last modified Ps 162 John Golden is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 162 John Golden Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top