Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 749
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Quite simple they are terrible. Most are burnt out and can't handle the class size, they make grading mistakes and often have to teach to such a broad spectrum of students, from non-native speakers to math whizzes that there is not individual attention at all.

Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
They do, but not intentionally. The classes of 30 to 33 are above average in size and so if a students wants attention they have to have grit and determination. Most well behaved, quite students get lost in the crowd.


Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
My daughter had a 2nd grade teacher who clearly resented her for asking to many questions.

Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Most of the teachers are way past their prime and really don't care about the general population.

Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway 1

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
Principal expressly told parents that a teacher is not under any obligation to respond to a parent's email. The teacher told my child it's ok not to finish his homework. Bullying is tolerated at school. What kind of school is this?


Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
PS196 This is a terrible school. All they care about is the state test. The learning process is deteriorating and there is minimal homework. The administration mismanages this place in a shameful manner

Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
The Principal and Vice Principal are excellent and very involved in the children's education. They are responsive, bright and set a great standard for the faculty.

Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
I went to this elementary school, and I had a great time. The teachers are mostly nice, and the learning material is up to date and sort of advanced. I loved it.


Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway 5

Posted December 23, 2013
- a parent
P.S. 196 Grand Central Parkway is an outstanding school with emphasis on academics. Ms. Migliano is an excellent principal who has a strong leadership and most teachers (and not all) there are great. My older child went to PS196Q and has been going to Hunter College High School in Manhattan. My younger one has been going to PS196Q since kindergarten. I can only recommend PS196Q to every parent and child. You children will excel at this school.

Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway 4

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in third grade now and she has been at this school since kindergarten. It has its good and bad. I noticed that the people there yell a lot. To be honest, I think it's due to an overcrowding issue. There are a lot of kids and the ratio of students to teachers is pretty high. Other than the yelling, I have had good experiences...of course I have never had to talk to the principle or administration about any issues, so I have no comment on how well they handle problems. But I have talked to them about possibly taking my daughter out of school for a month to leave the country. They were very helpful. They told me everything I need to know: my options, the forms to fill out, and what will happen. The teachers have all been great. I like the new emphasis on teaching depth and introspection...especially in reading comprehension and writing. My husband and I are both engineers, so my daughter gets a lot of math and science at home. I am grateful for the reading comprehension and writing aspect of the curriculum. I am just starting third grade, so testing hasn't really been pushed a lot yet. I will find out this year how it goes as this is the first year of testing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway
71-25 113th Street, Queens, NY  11375
(718) 263-9770
Last modified Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 196 Grand Central Parkway Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 145 reviews. Top