Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Michael's School

Private | PK-8 | 27 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $348,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,430.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2013

MHRCA at St. Michael's is an excellent school, located in downtown Flushing. The principal was a teacher for many years and is the heart of the school, both academically and spiritually. The majority of teachers are NYS licensed. One teacher is specifically dedicated to working with teachers/students of all grade in differentiated instruction. MHRCA also partners with St. John's and Yale University. A Dual Lanugage program (TWIN-CS) will begin (1 of only 12 Catholic Schools across the nation selected).Daily breakfast is FREE and lunch is free/reduced (NYC). MHRCA has 2 computer labs and smartboards in all the classrooms. Catholic Schools are always seeking funds, however, the administration tries to keep things affordable. Early drop-off is "free" and the afterschool/hw help is inexpensive. The principal seeks programs/funding from all sources and is dedicated to all her students. In turn, many parents, teachers and community support in any way they can. A small school where the principal knows everyone and review performance weekly for ~200 students! The teachers are also dedicated to enhance learning, yet focus on the core curriculum. There's also a great summer program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

Although a safe school with a structured curriculum most of the staff is great; however some of the teachers have to be a bit more compassionate towards certain children who learn at different paces. Children with slight learning disabilities are in the same class as others who excel at a more rapid pace. Some Teachers must understand their students needs and clearly differentiate direction given to the class as a whole. Clarity is most important to children when learning and i dont think all of the teachers understand that. However, most of the faculty and teachers are postivie and understand their students and strive to keep positive happy environments in their classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

MHRCA at St. Michael s is a excellent school parents come from as far as long island to bring students to this school. The students are extremely well behaved thanks to the Principal Mrs. Ragone and her Staff. Mrs. Ragone is dedicated to the school, staff, parents and most importantly the students. The school has a strong vocal parent teacher association the parents are very dedicated and are involved. The Saint Michaels site will be participating in the Two Way Immersion Network (a dual language program) in September 2013 it was chosen as one of the twelve Catholic schools in the country after having completing the application process to the National Catholic Educators Association and Boston College. It is the only Catholic school within New York State to receive acceptance to this program. The teachers of Saint Michaels work closely with Saint John s University. The school also offers Title One Services to the students and has a full service kitchen which offers the children Hot Lunch and Free Breakfast daily. The children are very happy with teachers & principal. The Parents, Principal and Teachers are committed to the school and welcome new students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

St. Michael's is a great Catholic school. A small school that could do better if it only had the funds and more involved parents. The enviroment is safe and everyone knows one another. The students are well behaved. Better than the public school kids in manners and attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

This school has progressed very much, with my child's learning in 2nd grade. I'm very happy with my child at St. Michael's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

This school has progressed very much, with my son's learning in pre-k. His teachers are great and amazing! He's learned so much and starting to communicate with his fellow classmates, he tells me how much he loves learning and most of all understanding the curriculum. I'm very grateful and happy with his progression!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I am a former student at st.michaels and if you ask me, it is not on my list. The education is horrible, It doesnt offer anything but nothing and the tuiton you have to pay is bogus!!!!!!!! Not only that but there never any good trips that excite the students just bowling and the zoo. When people say that catholic education is the best, at st.michaels it surely isnt one bit. I am now attending a great public highschool and that is what you can call the best education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2008

In my opinion St. Michaels is the best school ever. I am very pleased to have two of my children attending the school and with God's help I will have my third son attending starting September'08. As long as God will along me to. The teachers, the staff and epecially Mrs. Rogone. Couldn't ask for a better person to be in charge. I am very thankful for all my children have learned and have received from their education. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

I am very happy with my child's progress at St. Michael's. They have a range of academic levels from remedial help to a program for gifted students. I have found the teachers to be helpful and caring for the children. My son has made good friends and enjoys going to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 21%
Asian 31% N/A
Black 6% 21%
White 5% 52%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Maureen Rogone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

136-58 41st Avenue
Queens, NY 11355
Phone: (718) 961-0246

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT