Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Most Precious Blood School

Private | PK-8 | 80 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $541,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2014

The WORST! They are overcrowded (30+ kids in each class), failed almost all Math state tests, and don't care about the kids. An expensive joke and not a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

My son attends this school since last year. His previous school, Corpus Christi, closed in 2012. He has adjusted to MPB very well because of the teachers, staff and students. The teachers are caring and wonderful. They care about the children as if they were their own. They are always participating in professional development, on their own time, in order to utilize current teaching practices. The staff of the school take the time to help every student. The principal and vice principal know every child by name and make them feel like part of a family. The students are respectful and friendly with one another. The entire school truly exemplifies what it means to be Catholic. As a result my son is very happy here and participates in many extra-curricular activities because he loves to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

My daughter is now in 1st Grade, and I am happy to say that her Kindergarten and Assistant teacher really prepared her for this next level. My daughter is always excited to go to school and never scared. She is one of the smartest in class :) All the staff are friendly , kind and dependable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

This is a Great school. They keep you informed about your children. The early bird program and the after school programs are Excellent and the kids are always learning. I myself Graduated in 1998 and I had such a good experience I had to send my kids and I am Not disappointed at all. Would not want to pick anywhere else. No complaints at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

My son started out in the summer camp program at Most Precious Blood prior to starting kindergarten in Sept. 2012 at MPB. The faculty, level of education and facility are top notch. The after school program is a blessing. My son attended summer camp once again in 2013, and then started the fist grade this past September at MPB. His first grade teacher is one of the most caring and patient teachers that I have ever met. She is also one of the afterschool teachers and makes sure homework is done prior to play. Breakfast and lunch meal plans are available. After school activities and events allow the students and faculty to bond and grow together. The school principal is second to none and knows everyone of the students. Catholic school education at its finest. I would recommend this school to other parents looking for an educational facility with a well balanced program teaching not only academics and religious instruction but building on family values, good manners and teamwork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

MPB is one of the greatest gems of Queens. My son graduated from this school and with the stellar, above-average education and nurturing he received from this school and the teachers, he was able to win a full scholarship to a prestigious high school. This is one of the best gifts you can give your children. A top education, incomparable to charter or public schools anywhere in Queens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

I graduated from this school five years ago and learned, after having gotten into high schools, that I was way behind my peers in terms of education. Not sure if this is a Catholic-school thing or MPB thing and things may have changed but I initially had trouble trying to catch up with things that I should have been taught.


Posted May 23, 2013

I used to like the school alot, but lately my views have changed. There are no sports programs at all. Alot of yelling by the teachers. One teacher gives h.w. on stuff she hasn't even taught the kids yet and more than half the students are failing her class. I am seriously considering pulling my kids out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

My granddaughter is getting a great education at Most Precious Blood School!!


Posted May 18, 2010

MPB feels like an extension to my family. My son is in third grade now, going to fourth. My daughter is finishing pre-k and loving her teachers! We are very happy being part of this loving community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Great faculty and teachers! Wonderful learning environment for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

The teachers are very concerned and care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

We have two kids in this school and we are very happy with the program,with the staff and the most important, discipline.... We do recommend this school,and we love it.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

My son attended the preK program here this past year and I was very impressed. First, the teachers are wonderful and patient and they have willingly helped out on any issues my son has had. The children learn so much through hands on experimentation and observation of the real world. The school is very diverse and we had a very good group of kids and parents who were very interested in their children's experience and stayed very involved and helped eachother out. I really don't have anything bad to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

My daughter is in Kindergarten. She loves the school. The teacher and the teacher's assistant are wonderful. They encourage creativity, using their imagination and respect for others. The school also enforces a strong academic environment. The principal and her staff are accessible, concerned, and qualified. I have enrolled my daughter for first grade. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

Both of my children attend this school. I am happy with the academics and the environment. They do get homework and are tested on a regular basis. I have to disagree with that one review that said that the tutition is raised every few months -that is not true! All of the teachers that I have met so far are accomodating and will listen to your concerns during the entire school year, not just during report card time. I have had an open communication with all of the teachers that my children have had so far. I highly recommed this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

I am so proud of Most Precious Blood School. One of our eighth graders won a diocesan-wide essay contest about the blessings of Christmas. The grand prize was tickets to the annual Radio City Music Hall Christmas Spectacular for her family and classmates. She wrote a beautiful essay detailing the true meaning of Christmas and the importance of giving to others. Thanks to the fine teachers at Most Precious Blood she learned the skills necessary to be a wonderful writer. There she also was taught the true meaning of Christmas and about all its blessings. Congratulations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

I have my kid in this school and I am not very happy about it. I strongly believe that teaching methods and equipment are outdated, more fittig middle ages than 21st century. Students are required to memorize, not to conclude by themselves, teaching 'ex cathedra method'. Information are given only with a report cards. With every new year and new teacher there are new snack rules. I am for discipline but not to interfere with child's creativity. Students are afraid of some teachers. That may be why each year they enroll less and less students. Whole school looks dark and sad. More children laughter would definitely help but this is strictly discouraged. I am seriously considering moving my child to some other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I am a sevetnh grader who just got out of MPB last year. I left this school because the teachers treat you all like a group, they dont give enough homework, the test are easy, and Mrs. Demaio does not know how to lead a school. The school is failing terribly. Every few months they raise the tution, and many teachers are quitting their jobs and the school refuses to hire new ones. There used to be 3 classses for every grade now there are 2 or only one. The school has went downhill since Mr. Bisconie has left. There are no sports at all. There is only one boys basketball team and there are absoulutley no girls sports. The teachers in the classes are teaching material that is for little kids. When i was in 6th grade they taught place value for a month. That is taught in 1st grade.


Posted October 15, 2008

MPB is a very organized school. It's not perfect, but they strive to be one. Faculty and staff are very concerned with students welfare, academic and spiritual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 52%
Hispanic 34% 21%
Asian 15% N/A
Two or more races 9% N/A
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Barbara K. Demaio
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3252 37th Street
Queens, NY 11101
Phone: (718) 278-4081

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 166 Henry Gradstein
Long Island City, NY


St Joseph Elementary School
Long Island City, NY



Ps 70
Long Island City, NY


Is 10 Horace Greeley
Long Island City, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT