Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Elizabeth Catholic Academy

Private | PK-8 | 300 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

As parent I just have to say a great big thank you to St. Elizabeth school. All 4 of my kids went there and are now adults with good jobs because they had a good education at St. Elizabeth's. They all had Mr. Ferguson and continue to speak fondly of him even now. Do the right thing for your children and put them in St. Elizabeth's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

My daughter is currently in first grade and so far my experience with this school has been excellent ! My daughter attended kindergarten last year, with Mrs. Barcia and I couldn't be more happy with the development my child had under her watch. My daughter couldnt read a word to begin the year and by the end was reading full sentences and it is directly because of her. She made my daughter feel very comfortable and had an amazing environment for learning. My daughter wanted to go to school everyday and as a parent it is a joy to have a teacher who makes your kid love school as much as she did. My only full year experience is with Mrs. Barcia and I really wish there were more teachers like her, not only in this school but all of them. The principal Mr. Ferguson is extremely nice and approachable , although I've never had to approach him in my first year with any complaints. First grade has been a pleasant experience thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

The teachers are very well mannered and concern for the sucecess of their students . They help even in the emotional growth of their students . The principal Mr . Ferguson is very approachable and always has a smile . He is not arrogant compared to the previous school my son came from . I look at this as a blessing to transferred my child to this Great school and great principal and teachers ..... God Bless the faculty , staff , and principal of this instituition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

If your child is going to SECOND GRADE, I wish you good luck with the Teacher (Mrs. Stallone). She has no patience, she is moody, mean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

I also attended St Elizabeth School in the 80's To the person who commented on "bullying" in the 80's. If you have not realized that is over 40 years ago, Times have changed. I do not recall any bullying.


Posted July 21, 2010

Boys will be boys, is not an appropriate response to bullying. The school will do well in designing anti-bullying policies and strategies. . Matthew 11:15 He who has ears, let him hear.


Posted March 17, 2007

Saint Elizabeth Parish School has continuously upheld the highest of scholastic standards. The principal and teaching staff are top notch and take great pride in delivering a solid academic regiment to all students. St Elizabeth School has always been ranked as one of the better parochial schools in Queens.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 21%
Asian 10% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 10% N/A
White 9% 52%
Black 6% 21%
Two or more races 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • William G. Ferguson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

94-1 85th Street
Queens, NY 11421
Phone: (718) 641-6990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 64 Joseph P Addabbo
Ozone Park, NY




Ps 60 Woodhaven
Woodhaven, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT