Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Redeemer Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 40 students

We are best known for caring faculty members.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Queens

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $450,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2013

Great school! My daughter has been here for the last two years and I cannot express how happy I am with the progress she has made in this school. The principle Mr. William, is a hands on person and is very involved in the student's life. I feel that the teacher's are great and helpful to the students, taking extra time to make sure the student's understand the work that they are doing. I recommend this school to everyone I know because of how much I like it. Thank you to everyone at this school that work so hard to make it one of the best school's in Queens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

My son and my daughter went to Redeemer Lutheran School from Nursery to 8th grade. The principal and the teachers were very good. It was like a family in the school especially during special occasions games, and activities. I highly recommend the school to other parents or to anyone who is looking for an elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

My daughter has attended Redeemer for 2.5 years, and is now a happy, advanced kindergartner. The tuition is extremely affordable for a private school, and they have very reasonably priced before and after school care, which is a must for working parents. I'm happy with the administration and the teachers, and would recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

Thy should put a stop to the attitude of the lunch lady. Very bad personality. The principal very nice person , also most of the teachers are very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I am a parent of an 8th and 1st grader at RLS , both my children have been there since nursery school. I can't find enough good things to say about the nutring christian environment that I feel confident leaving my children in everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I am a former student and a current parent of a student at Redeemer. My experience has been very positive. Redeemer is a caring Christian academic environment where my two daughters have grown up. The teachers are dedicated to the students and the principal is wonderful. The Lord has truly blessed us with this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

NO school is perfect but Redeemer comes close. Both of my grandchildren went to RLS and I have to say their experience was very helpful in their High School Years. My oldest is in college and my younger one is in High School with Honors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My three children have attended RLS and we are very happy with the school. It is a very nurturing and caring school and I highly recommend it. Class sizes are very small and therefore children can be given extra attention by the teachers. My oldest child recently left the school to attend a gifted and talented program at a public school, but I can attest to the fact that her educational foundation was built at RLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2007

I love this school for my son. He is in Kindergarten. There is great discipline as well as caring teachers and plenty of fun activities throughout the year for both students and parents. He is reading, writing and has a great love of learning. He will be in this school as long as we are in the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

I can't say this is one of the best schools ever. When my child did something wrong, they wouldn't listen to him or anything. The staff is non-caring like they don't want to be there or something. Even though, it was cheaper I have changed my child to another school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

I went to RLS for 1st to 8th grade and i loved my teachers they were the nicest and most caring and helpful teachers i have had. I graduated from Mr. Rudy's class of 2003 and he was the best teacher i ever had. i had him for 8th and 7th grade and some of the teachers i had arn't there anymore but all the new ones are just as nice. i love rls. its a really good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 8, 2004

My son went to nursery school here and I love this school. The teachers are exceptionally caring and nurturing. He learned so much. He has gone to Pre-K and now Kindergarten at another school and is one of the most intelligent kids in his class. It all began at Redeemer. I wish he could have remained at Redeemer but we moved out of the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 52%
Hispanic 17% 21%
Black 7% 21%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Michael C. Williams
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (718) 366-0338

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Varies - public and non-public

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Martin Luther High School
Better NYC Public and Non-Public High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6926 Cooper Avenue
Queens, NY 11385
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 821-6699

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 88 Seneca
Ridgewood, NY


Ps 68 Cambridge
Ridgewood, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT