Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 970

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Is 230 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a community member
My school is THE BEST!!! It has very good teachers and after school clubs. We have the best Talent shows and the best principle. The students are great too. There hasnt been any bullying and i have never got bullied at all. THE BEST SCHOOL IS I.S.230

Is 230 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a community member
This school is awesome! The after-school programs are so much fun, and all the teachers there are very nice. There are many overnight trips throughout the year. The only thing that the school lacks is a playground...


Is 230 3

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
This school seems academically sound. They offer students diverse and challenging classes. They also provide students with various after-school activities like Art, Drama, and Music. In addition to the academic and extra-curricular activities, they also host several educational and entertaining day and overnight (2 day/3 night) trips during the semester. My concern is the level of staff attentiveness to the students' academic well-being. i understand homework is not often check and students are assigned homework on topics that were not covered. Also, staff seems to be more concerned about non-academic activities than teaching.
1 person found this helpful

Is 230 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
This is a good school. offer honor programs as well as good academic preparation. My daughter went to this school and there is a safety environment and good teachers.
1 person found this helpful

Is 230 1

Posted April 15, 2012
- a parent
Dangerous environment for children, would not reccomend a child to come to the school at all.


Is 230 4

Posted December 21, 2011
- a community member
This was a great school! The class sizes were big and the school was small, but that is to be expected from a NYCDOE public school. The academics were challenging enough and the teachers were kind and supportive. The honor's class probably received a bit more attention, but the entire school was looked after very well. The student body and staff is extremely diverse and it is a great place to be for middle school because it not only takes a child out of elementary school, but preps them for high school as well. To the person who said the breakfast and lunch programs need to be cut, I completely disagree. More than half of the students rely on the school food. Some parents are extremely busy and don't have time to pack a proper nutritious lunch or perhaps the students aren't able to get breakfast at home. Public schools foster children of all demographics and financial backgrounds.

Is 230 3

Posted October 25, 2011
- a parent
IM LOOKING FOR A GRATE SCHOOL FOR MY DAUGHTER SHE IS IN 5TH GRADE GOIMG TO 6 GRADE PLEASE LET ME KNOW ANY CHANGES IN THIS SCHOOL

Is 230 2

Posted May 30, 2011
- a community member
Most of my classmates went to this school and I have watched them become corrupted, but I have been unable to do anything about it. The staff is good, and this school is high tech, but they have not been able to instill good values into their students.


Is 230 1

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
the worst experience so far. HELP they have done 0 for a very good student. the administratic=ve part is the worst. please dont send your kid here not at all.

Is 230 5

Posted March 04, 2010
- a student
Go is230 we all rock cause we are smart we are a school of intelligence

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Is 230
73-10 34th Avenue, Queens, NY  11372
(718) 335-7648
Last modified Is 230 is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Is 230 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top