Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 222

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Stanislaus Kostka School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a community member
This school is definitely an inviting environment. I have gone to this school since I was 4 (in Nursery!), and I am now in 8th grade and I am definitely going to miss this place. It is a very comfortable and loving environment, the teachers care very much about the welfare of each and every student, and there is very strict discipline which creates well behaved students. I have learned so much from going here; the education is challenging, but the teachers help you through. I have made so many amazing people here that I hope to stay in contact with for the rest of my life, thanks to St. Stan's. Overall, the school is great, and I would recommend anyone to send their children here for a great education and strict discipline.

St Stanislaus Kostka School 4

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
St. Stanislaus Kostka Catholic Academy is a hidden gem - the best elementary school in Greenpoint/Williamsburg. Many parents in our growing neighborhood either focus on public schools or new charter schools but St. Stan's as it is affectionately known has been educating well-rounded, civic-minded students for decades. The teachers have years of experience. The curriculum is strong. The community is solid. Overall, the school is very academically focused (as opposed to a Reggio approach), with homework and even spelling tests starting in Kindergarten. This is balanced with a dedication to the arts (a spring show, a school musical, and a music supplement in the curriculum) and to community service. The main classroom teachers as well as the special subject teachers guide the children's learning with dedication and patience. The children are supportive of each other across all grade levels - the best example of the caring and family atmosphere that is fostered at St. Stan's. It is precisely this atmosphere - this community - that I trust to take care of my child. I am confident that my child is safe and getting the best education she can. (and I love the uniforms too!)


St Stanislaus Kostka School 5

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
There are simply not enough great things I can say about this school. They take academics very seriously--with almost all of the students scoring well above the average on NY state exams. But at the same time, they make learning and attending school fun for the students. Crazy hat day, pajama day, tons of extracurricular activities, and just a family type of atmosphere. There is constant and open communication with the teachers and Principal who are approachable and very easy to talk with. Your child is in a warm, safe, nurturing environment with people who care deeply for them. Really, what more could you ask for? Worth every penny.

St Stanislaus Kostka School 0
no rating

Posted December 15, 2009
- a parent
caters mostly to the polish kids, tend to clique together

St Stanislaus Kostka School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
St. Stan's prepared my daughter extremely well for a highly competitive high school. She found herself academically superior to most of her classmates. Lots of individual attention & great discipline policies allow even the most reluctant children to learn. Great dedicated teachers with very little turnover. School offers a very personal approach...they become part of your family.


St Stanislaus Kostka School 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St Stanislaus Kostka School 5

Posted August 08, 2008
- a teacher
At every level there are teachers who care deeply about the students, their achievements, their self-esteem, and their faith. St. Stan's is a special place to be, not only academically and spiritually, but also has strong leadership involvement by its principal and parents. This school identifies strongly with the community.

St Stanislaus Kostka School 0
no rating

Posted July 10, 2008
- a parent
the best school on the planet. Awesome teachers, awesome principal, awesome activities. This is the place for your child if you want the finest education possible.


St Stanislaus Kostka School 5

Posted May 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St Stanislaus Kostka School 5

Posted April 22, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school! The teachers are caring and nurturing. My child is receiving a great education here.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Stanislaus Kostka School
6117 Grand Avenue, Queens, NY  11378
(718) 326-1585
Last modified St Stanislaus Kostka School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Stanislaus Kostka School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top